Ghosting in the background

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by lostinspace, Sep 7, 2004.

  1. lostinspace

    lostinspace
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,808
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +583
    I've just bought a Panny 55 and it's great apart from one thing which I've read about somewhere before,but can't find the solution.
    When playing back discs,whether recorded or DVD films,in the background I can see a broadcast showing as a shadow.It appears to roll right to left.So how do I get rid of it?Do I have to disconnect a pin in the scart lead-would an RGB only scart do the trick (sound goes through an amp).
    One other thing,I tried unplugging the aerial and the picture played from a film DVD went really grainy.
    Setup:
    aerial to digibox>RGB scart to DVD recorder>RGB scart to TV,and rf to VCR>rf to TV.
     
  2. Damo121

    Damo121
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    865
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +28
    Are you using a cheap scart lead?

    If so upgrade to a gold plated oxygen free one.

    Hopefully should clear the problem.

    Damo :)
     
  3. lostinspace

    lostinspace
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,808
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +583
    I tried a different scart lead with no change.
    The one I use I got from Richer Sounds for £30,but it is a fully wired one.That's why I wonder if an RGB only lead might do the trick?
     
  4. dude1971

    dude1971
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've never fully defeated this problem. Removing the aerial helps but I bought a seperate player and I watch films through that and just tv stuff through my recorder.
     
  5. kenfowler3966

    kenfowler3966
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2001
    Messages:
    844
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    leeds UK
    Ratings:
    +15
    Try selecting a blank channel on the tv, I have to do this on my toshiba to eliminate sound breakthrough from the analogue channel the tv is tuned to at the time. The tv displays a blue screen when not tuned in which stops the picture breakthrough.
     
  6. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,599
    Are any of your nearby neighbours using a wireless video network solution by any chance?
     
  7. lostinspace

    lostinspace
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,808
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +583
    Thanks for the suggestions-selecting an untuned TV channel before switching on seems to have done the trick.
    I'm still pretty sure I read about cutting the lead from one of the scart pins though!
     
  8. Ian M

    Ian M
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    disconnecting pin 19 usually does the trick...(make sure you do this on the end of the lead which goes into your device, not the other end, or the device itself) :nono:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice