1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Getting the most out of a HD5 :)

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by davisneil, Jun 15, 2005.

1. davisneil

davisneil

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +19
    I thought I would try to help as many people as possible with some of the questions on here regarding whether the sony HD1/3/5 has certain features and how to get it to do what you want.
    I have got a lot of experience of Sony walkman. Ive been listening to em since I was 7 and when you upgrade every year, you see, through evolution, what to use and not to use. Ive also had an ipod (crap sound, battery, and white is a REALLY bad idea as the dirt accumulates on the headphone socket and click wheel...). Now Im back with Sony Ive played with my HD5 and discovered various things:

Gapless Playback

Sony products have a Double Buffer derived from the Minidisc. This means that one half the buffer RAM is used to stream music to the headphones and the other half is used to fill the blanks/errors and also to queue up the next track. This is what achieves gapless playback-a continuous data flow. The ipod has a single buffer, and the gap is caused by the next track not being ready when the playing track ends(!)
    To get good gapless, you should observe the following:
    1. mp3, due to technical reasons, cannot play gapless without a click or perceivable gap. Therefore you will need to encode your gapless albums in Atrac, as this works the best with the double buffer.