1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Getting surround sound from Sky+ to hifi

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by GregUK, May 5, 2005.

1. GregUK

GregUK

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    The plan is to to get 5.1 surround from an Amstrad Sky+ box to a Technics hifi with built-in dolby digital decoder.

I was hoping to do this using an optical cable. The Sky+ box has an optical out, but the hifi doesn't have an optical connector - it only has phono inputs.

I have limited knowledge of this, but it appears that if I connect Sky+ to hifi using a phono cable, the dolby digital signal is lost, and the sound is output in stereo.

What is the solution to this problem? Do I need an optical cable with an optical to phono converter box?

Any advice much appreciated. Thanks.

2. johndon

johndon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +89
    AFAIK, you can't get Dolby Digital 5.1 from phone inputs, onlt via digital optical or coax so you'd be stuck with ProLogic from the phono inputs.

John

3. Roohster

Roohster

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,028
    Greg,

if your technics system is 5.1, there should be a coaxial digital input.
    You could get an optical-coax converter like this one.

4. GregUK

GregUK

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. Nick_UK

Nick_UK
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +270
    If you don't have either an optical or a co-axial input on your hi-fi, then you do not have a Dolby Digital decoder.

I suspect that you are confusing Dolby Digital with Dolby Surround ?

A Dolby Surround amp can decode from any stereo source, so all you need is a R & L audio connection.

6. GregUK

GregUK

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Nick_UK