Getting started- filling a student's one bedroom apartment with sound?

anotherkenny

Standard Member
Reaction score
So, I'm totally new to any sound decisions; I've gotten my first apartment, as a student in Richmond, Virginia. I want to play music in the medium-sized living room and don't know where to start. I'll be playing music off of my Mac mini, but am considering putting the computer in my bedroom, away from the speakers.

What's a good set up on smaller budget, say keeping below $1000/ £609? (tell me if that limit is unreasonable, whether there are great used systems out there.)
What are essential components for a system? What sort of power do I need for a ~ 5 x 6 meter room? Finally, how could I remotely control the music with the computer in the other room or with an iPad?

How would you start out today?

I think the first thing you need to decide is Stereo or Surround Sound?

Surround Sound is great for movies, but less so for music.

Stereo is great for music, but less so for Movie. Though I get by just fine using a stereo for movies, but I've got some pretty big speakers.

Another advantage of stereo, is you get higher quality equipment for a fixed amount of money. With surround sound, though the Surround effect is good for movies, your money is spread pretty thinly across a lot of speakers and a lot of amplifiers.

In terms of power, for stereo, as long as you are 45watts/channel or above, you are fine. With AV/Surround amps, virtually all of them have plenty of power, so that's not a problem. Ideally, for stereo, we want to be in the 60w to 80w range, though if you can push up to 100w/ch, so much the better, but with more power comes a higher price.

Good places to shop -

Crutchfield.com
MusicDirect.com
AudioAdvisor.com
Frys.com

Also, you can find some manufacturers who have their own EBay seller sites -

Harman Kardon / JBL / Infinity can be found here -

harmanaudio | eBay

Polk Audio Speakers here -

polkaudio | eBay