1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Getting RAID controller to work in XP

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Brogan, Jul 9, 2004.

  1. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,484
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +482
    Help :lease: .....

    I've finally got XP installed but can't get my HPT370A RAID controller working.

    My C drive is on the IDE port so it's not causing any problems but my backup drive (E) is on my UIDE 1 and so I can't back up my data.

    I've tried the latest drivers from the mobo manufacturers site and also HighPoint's site but no joy.

    I know you have to press F6 when installing Windows if the drive is on the RAID channel but how do you do it after you've installed Windows?

    I've done a Google but can't find the answer.

    Almost there....
     
  2. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +194
    Have you gone into Admin tools and disk management to see if the volume actually exists, if it does , partition it and format it, then it will appear in file mangler......I assume you have actually installed the card driver?
     
  3. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,484
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +482
    The drive appears in DOS/BIOS but not in Windows.
    I'd rather not format/partition it either as it is my backup drive with about 75GB of data on it...

    It's actually an on board HighPoint RAID controller.
    Under Win ME/98 I just installed the HighPoint drivers after installing Windows and that was that.

    I know there are some issues with RAID in XP but I can't believe that it's not supported....
     
  4. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +194
    You need to use the XP or at a pinch the win2K driver but I assume you know that. Is the existing format FAT32 or NTFS?
    If it don't appear in admin tools, disk management and the card don't appear in the device list then you need to sort that first and that has to be down to a driver issue.....XP probably doesn't have native support for the card. See what the device manager says, if the card has a yellow ! mark, then it needs a driver or something more fundimental is wrong...
     
  5. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +194
    Maybe I should have said device instead of card as its on board but you know what I mean...... ;) The chipset still needs an XP or Win2K driver...
     
  6. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,484
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +482
    Yep, I'm trying to install the XP driver.
    There's a yellow exclamation mark and when I try to install the drivers it comes back with an error and what looks like an unsupported message...
     
  7. The Dude

    The Dude
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,453
    I presume you've downloaded the XP driver from highpoint?

    If you're having probs installing the driver, I'd try an older version ( the previous one to the latest ) if one is available..

    Newish drivers can be a beeyatch sometimes..

    can you screen dump the error msg ( ALT+PrntScrn ) and send me it?

    just paste it into a word doc and send me.. I'll PM email addy now..
     
  8. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,484
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +482
    Hi Jon.

    I've sent you an email with the error message.

    Tried the XP driver from HighPoint and EPoX but no joy.
    I can do a screen dump but I'll have to use a floppy to transfer it to here.

    Give me 5 mins...
     
  9. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    21,456
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +9,017
    strange question i know, but have you a SCSI card in the machine?
     
  10. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,484
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +482
    No SCSI card - just the RAID controller integrated onto the mobo.

    Still no joy after trying 9 different drivers :( :mad:
     
  11. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    21,456
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +9,017
    is there a firmware update for the onboard RAID controller?

    as some drivers / OS need to have a certain BIOS revision to work correctly
     
  12. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,484
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +482
    I've flashed the mobo BIOS to the lates release (which is about 09/23/2002) and this also flashes the RAID controller BIOS at the same time.

    I'm slowly coming to the conclusion that I either have to reinstall from scratch and try the F6 method or accept the fact the my RAID controller is never going to work in XP and I will lose 4 of my (U)IDE channels...
     
  13. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,484
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +482
    Got it working at last and it was an unbelievably stupid solution.

    I just had to use the 'have disc' option.
    It wasn't enough to browse to the correct disc/folder where the drivers were located.

    Windows! Don't you just love it....:rolleyes:
     
  14. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    21,456
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +9,017
    yep.....thats why you always use the "have disk" option! :)
     
  15. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,484
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +482
    I keep all of my drivers on the hard disk and just specify the folder when I install them.

    Seems XP doesn't like this method and you have to use 'have disc' for the RAID controller.
    My method worked with all the other drivers though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...