Getting my first blu-ray player

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by martyn165, Feb 16, 2014.

  1. martyn165

    martyn165
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Brierly Hill,Westmidlands
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hi, looking to replace my denon 230 dvd player which I've had from new about 6 years now still works great just want to try the better quality blu-ray format.
    I don't have loads to spend about £100.Not to bothered about all the fancy stuff just want good picture & sound quality and to play my old dvds too.
    Been looking at the sonyBDP-s4100 & the panny BDT-230, feel free to suggest other players or info on the two I've mentioned...Thank's
    Martyn
     
  2. mentm

    mentm
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,139
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +466
    Anything by sony or panasonic will be fine IMHO, you pay more for extra features not necessarily bluray quality.
     
  3. PowerLee

    PowerLee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    201
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    I've recently got the Sony BDP - S4100, very easy to set up & use, excellent picture quality & silent in operation.
    The one thing that let's it down is NO built in wi fi, lan cable connection works the smart / internet features.
    Also being a Sony it's easy to make the dvd part multi region using the advice on this very forum.
     
  4. martyn165

    martyn165
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Brierly Hill,Westmidlands
    Ratings:
    +10
    Thanks for the reply, not to bothered about the wi-fi but will I need to contact it to the net at some point for any updates it may need
     
  5. PowerLee

    PowerLee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    201
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    You could connect it up during first set up so it downloads & installs the latest software.
    If its working & playing your discs fine after that then leave it.
     
  6. martyn165

    martyn165
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Brierly Hill,Westmidlands
    Ratings:
    +10
    Ok, thanks for you help
    Martyn
     

Share This Page

Loading...