1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

getting ir to cabinet

Discussion in 'AV Stands, Cabinets, Seating & Furniture' started by sirata, Jul 22, 2003.

  1. sirata

    sirata
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    271
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    GUERNSEY
    Ratings:
    +40
    I`m looking to build a ht with a dedicated small room at the rear
    housing all the equipment.
    I`ll probably get a pronto,my question is the equipment room will be about 16ft from the screen,whats the best way to get the signal in there,i had a powermid in the house,but found some days it would work/some days not.

    Iwas hoping to have a sensor below the screen and a cable running behind the walls to an emitter in the equip rack, is there
    such a hard wired thing,or has any body got a good solution.

    The thing i found with the powermid,if someone knocked it, it
    would need moving before it worked again, i want something thats hidden and works everytime.

    Thanks for any help
     
  2. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    Xantech make the best stuff... Try letsautomate.com
     
  3. dood

    dood
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    943
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hobart
    Ratings:
    +38
    Niles IR extenders will do the job.
     
  4. BigAde

    BigAde
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    964
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +23
    Try the Keene remote extender - approx £50 from:
    www.keene.co.uk

    Works well for me anyway.
     
  5. noop

    noop
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i found the keene kit to be functional however i couldnt get the ir receiver to pick up a signal over 3 metres .... I changed batteries in my remotes changed the receiver position several times, made sure there wasnt any other interferance with no better results. I contacted keene and whilst helpful I was informed that the receivers were designed that way and wouldnt pick up any further than the distnace mentioned ....

    My room isnt huge (25ft x 14ft). I ended up using the multi ir receiver that is on letsautomate .... A little more expensive than the keene offering but it is a better design (smaller with less cabling) and has a much more powerful receiver ....

    All my kit is housed in a bespoke piece of furniture behind solid doors and this ir system is excellent ....
     
  6. MarkHudds

    MarkHudds
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    548
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi noop, I'm getting a similar range problem with Powermids ...

    Which multi IR receiver on letsautomate did you mean? Have you got a web link?
     
  7. alistair

    alistair
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a pronto 9500 with RF. This works very well and is wire free (except for the cabinet that it). Have been pleased with it so far. Can switch between rf/ir so lights work just as well. Those colour graphics are pretty cool too. Talks X10 too if you need it.
    Not sure on your budget but if like the pronto product ( I admit not everyone gets on with ccfs) then go for it.
     
  8. GavinBrowne

    GavinBrowne
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2001
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +4
    Noop,

    I am interested to read about your experiences with the Keene IR extender. I am using the same setup in my HC to control all of the equipment in a cupboard and also my Tivo in the lounge. I have found it to be ok until last week when I started to experiment with using a Dell Axim PDA as a colour remote. I have found that it is a bit more directional (that might read, less powerful) than the black and white pronto I have been using.

    Reading your post it occurs to me that It may be worthwhile fitting a xantech receiver to my existing system to see if it improves the effectiveness of the PDA based remote. My couch is about 2.5 meteres from the receiver which is sitting on top of my centre speaker.

    I would ideally like to just add the xantech receiver to the keene system as my wiring from receiver to cupboard is in the wall. Do you think this will be possible as I note that the keene system is 12v DC and letsautomate state that the xantech receivers are 9v DC. Strange as Xantech's website state that the 480 dinkylink receiver is 12v DC.

    If I have to use a xantech connecting box and power supply do you think I will get away with using the keene emmiters as the one going to my lounge is not going to be easy to replace. The one in my cupboard is a high power blaster which controls the DVD and amp.

    Sorry for the long post. Your thoughts would be appreciated.

    cheers,
     
  9. sirata

    sirata
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    271
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    GUERNSEY
    Ratings:
    +40
    Thanks for the info guys
    These forums are so useful,how did we manage without the net

    Dave:: :)
     
  10. GavinBrowne

    GavinBrowne
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2001
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +4
    Noop,

    Thanks for putting the idea of using the Xantech receiver into my head. To be honest I never thought of trying it to see if it was any better than the Keene setup. I got the Xantech stuff through letsautomate yesterday and bingo. I can now point my Dell Axim pretty much anywhere in the room and it picks up the signal. It has made my Axim much more functional and reliable. I was beginning to think about buting a pronto pro to see if it was any better.

    but not now!!

    cheers,
     
  11. wbessada

    wbessada
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,566
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +17
    Gavin, so you've plugged the Xantech receiver into the Keene IR distribution box? did you have to modify anything or was it plug and play?
    Thanks,
    William
     
  12. GavinBrowne

    GavinBrowne
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2001
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +4
    william,

    No I bought an entirely new xantech system from letsautomate.com.

    works a treat and i sold on the keene system to another forum member.
     
  13. wbessada

    wbessada
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,566
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +17
    Thanks Gavin - which Xantech did you get?
     
  14. GavinBrowne

    GavinBrowne
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2001
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +4
    William,

    Here is a copy of the order I placed with letsautomate.com

    Part No: 10889
    Description: Xantech CB20 One Zone Connecting Block (
    Unit Price: GBP 18.80

    Part No: 10065
    Description: Xantech 291 "Hidden Link" IR Receiver (I
    Unit Price: GBP 58.64

    Part No: 10885
    Description: 9V AC adaptor for use with Xantech equip
    Unit Price: GBP 9.40

    Delivery Method: Registered Post @ GBP 5.50

    Order Total: GBP 92.34
     

Share This Page

Loading...