1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Getting digital sound from PC

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by Alexg, May 26, 2005.

  1. Alexg

    Alexg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2001
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys,

    I've got a sound blaster platinum 5.1 (about 3 years old) I've tried everything I can think of to get the digital output from it working with my amp (Sony STR-DB940) I just cannot get any digital sound working from it at all be it SPDIF on the front bay, optical on the front bay and the digital 3.5mm jack on the actual card. All the drivers are installed and the creative software.

    Help!

    Thanks, Alex.
     
  2. Alexg

    Alexg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2001
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Really need an answer on this guys, tried searching to no avail.

    -Alex.
     
  3. mickey

    mickey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    5,881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    manchester
    Ratings:
    +265
    you have enabled the spdif output in the soundcard driver and the spdif output in the player you are using?. Mike
     
  4. martian1

    martian1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Sunderland
    Ratings:
    +241
    Well let me know this and i may help..What dvd software do you plan to use ie powerdvd Theatretek.
    You may need a sound filter like AC3 for passthrough has your card got spdif out connection?
     
  5. inzaman

    inzaman
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,875
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +929
    Have you gone into the advanced sound settings in windows and enabled spdif pass through. I had this problem and by doing this it solved it for me.
     
  6. Alexg

    Alexg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2001
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, where is "spdif pass through" ? can't find that option, I've found "digital output only" but ticking that doesn't make much difference.

    I've got an AC3 codec, and nearly every other codec under the sun installed.

    I've tried power dvd, win dvd, media player etc.
     
  7. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    Hi,

    So you have a cable from digital audio out on the sound card to digital audio in on the amp, and you have the amp selected to the appropriate input.

    In the sound card drivers panel look for and enable everything that is connected to spdif passthru, or digital audio out, or multi channel via amp/receiver.

    Go to control panel, sounds and audio devices, advanced and make sure that spdif is not muted (tick in the mute box should be removed).

    Restart your computer, turn the volume of the amp up, see if you get any windows sounds. If so then you just need to configure your media players and audio codecs correctly to enable the spdif passthru.

    Let us know if it works
    lisa
    :)
     
  8. Alexg

    Alexg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2001
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Lisa,

    I can't find anything that referes to "spdif pass through"
     
  9. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    The main ones to find are on the sound card drivers and check that spdif is not muted in windows. From Control Panel - Sounds and Audio devices - Advanced - Options - Properties - Make sure SPDIF is ticked in 'show the following volume controls' - then check that it is not muted.

    What do your sound card drivers look like? What are your options, can you post a screen grab?

    lisa

    Thought of something else - does your motherboard have onboard sound? If so have you disabled it in the BIOS.
     
  10. Dazb75

    Dazb75
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Bangor NI
    Ratings:
    +4
    The AC3Filter (if that's what AC3 codec you are using) has a configuration program. Usually it is setup to handle all digital output (AC3, DTS, etc) and I think the default setting is 2-channel output.

    Anyway, all creative 5.1 cards are notoriously bad for outputing 5.1 sound to an amp. The digital out on the card is only designed for creative speakers, which isn't made very clear when you buy the damn thing!

    Search around. There are other sound-card related forums in which this subject and some good tips are discussed at length.
     

Share This Page

Loading...