• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Question Getting a video signal to a Toshiba TLP X4500

SiKeS

Novice Member
So i bought this used Toshiba TLP X4500 from this guy for only 80 euro and it seems to be in mint condition. I believe it's an older type projector because I don't believe it has a way of inputting a digital video signal (like HDMI).

I bought this cheap adaptor to go from the HDMI port of my macbook into a VGA cable which I connecter to the RGB input of the projector. It didn't work and i'm sure there are many logical reasons why this didn't work.

Anyway my question is simple: How do i get a video signal from my macbook to the projector?

I would greatly appreciate an answer and yes i know i'm a complete novice but hey i just felt like watching some films on a nice projector :)

edit: Here's a picture of the back with all the inputs visible:
Ajgtm1aIk_pWrpPh83NR4Gv5ukyJTzkEPiqYjL80CJBF_zpsknzwv7l9.jpg

stevelup

Distinguished Member
You need an active converter, not just a cable - what exactly did you buy?

I have to say though that that projector is essentially useless for home cinema use. It’s 4:3, only 1024x768 resolution and has a terrible contrast ratio.

stevelup

Distinguished Member
Just search for 'Active HDMI to VGA' the clue will be that there's a power source needed, and usually they have an audio out.

eg: https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01KLKQ...t=&hvlocphy=9045597&hvtargid=pla-307560419275

By the time you put that projector in 16:9 mode, you'll only be outputting 1024x576 pixels. It's really an (old) data projector for use in an office. Have a play with it, it will cost you less than €10 for an adapter, but really, you want to try and find an actual home cinema projector.