1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Getting a Mac

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Pulsar, Dec 1, 2003.

1. Pulsar

Pulsar

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +288
    Hi guys,

I have been a PC all of my life, but i shall be getting my first Mac later this week. I shall be getting it second hand from my mate who is upgrading to a laptop. The computer I am getting is a iMac. It is quite a good spec with a 500 Mhz G3, 384 MB RAM 20 Gig HD etc etc. I plan on using it for light internet browsing, playing MP3's and doing uni work etc. I want to connect it to my broadband internet connection, but am not sure how to. There is a ethernet socket on the imac, so can I use a router to connect it to my broadband along with my PC?

I am also looking for general tips on using Mac's, as I have no experience. I plan on installing OS X as soon as I get it, as I have heard that is a very stable OS. I shall also get office for mac, as I am familiar with that. What other software is recommended?

Cheers

Rob

2. cwick

cwick

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +95
    They start 'em young in the police force these days :D

Connecting your iMac wont be a problem - as you say, a router or a hub will do the job. I'd suggest you consider more RAM if you're using OSX though - 384Mb is probably the minimum you'll get away with. Give it a try first, but if it's too slow, more RAM will certainly help.

Tips ? None really - it's dead easy to use, although you'll suffer from culture shock for a while ;-) This site is worth bookmarking though.

Other software ? I use virtually none - OSX comes with everything I need for the most part. The only exceptions are Launchbar and OpenOffice.

HTH.

Cheers, Carl.

3. Pulsar

Pulsar

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +288
    Hi Carl,

What can I say, my parents were both coppers :D