1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

get your lcds out for the lads!! (Don't quote with images!)

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by dubledene, Jun 13, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dubledene

    dubledene
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    well i was in the market for a plasma but since seeing some of the awesome lcd tv,s about im trying to convince the missus to let me sell the 36" sony to get a 32" lcd so can i have a look at yours (oooh missus)
     
  2. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    As soon as I get my new digital camera, I'm in here :D
     
  3. Damian1978

    Damian1978
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,481
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Fleetwood, Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +264
    :D

    There's been a few changes (er....no Humax PVR8000T, got a Marantz DV9500, got rid of the Philips DVDR70 for a LiteOn LVW5045 and got Sky+.....phew......crap I'm broke!).

    [​IMG]
     
  4. nnicol

    nnicol
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    My bedroom setup. Philips 32PF9986.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. mike7

    mike7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,539
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +487
    Nice looking set-up Damian. I noticed that your LCD is directly in front of a radiator. I was thinking of doing the same. Does anyone know if there is any danger of damage from a heat source so close to an LCD? Better to find out now before winter comes...
     
  6. Italights

    Italights
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was told a couple of years ago by a technician regarding a plasma that as long as you are more than 4 inches off the radiator there is no more radiated heat than any where else but I guess best to try putting your hand close to it and see
     
  7. Damian1978

    Damian1978
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,481
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Fleetwood, Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +264
    The pictures deceptive. Theres about a metre between the start of the stand and the radiator so I have plenty of space for wires and me to get behind and tinker! :eek:
     
  8. Tommy139

    Tommy139
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +13
    My own set up, details in my signature.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Deano70

    Deano70
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    357
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +0
    Went for the Tevion/Aldi special, hooked it up to my Samsung HD850, NTL box and Toshiba RDXS32 very happy.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. peahead

    peahead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    St.helens
    Ratings:
    +261
  11. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    OK, my setup isn't much, but here goes anyway.

    And also... PLEASE FORGIVE the wallpaper... it's out of my control :suicide:

    [​IMG]

    And how the screen itself performs. This isn't so useful as the camera adds a lot of edge enhancement and obviously the lighting and colours are totally gacked, but here goes:

    Some live action (for once):
    http://lyris-lite.net/upload/la.jpg

    I'll get some more really good looking live action DVDs posted soon, but sadly these are few and far between. So in the mean time... I love animation and love how it looks on LCD, so here are two Disney DVDs. These are all only either 480p or 576p.

    http://lyris-lite.net/upload/lilo1.jpg

    Watercolour background that looks amazing:
    http://lyris-lite.net/upload/lilo2.jpg

    http://lyris-lite.net/upload/lilo3.jpg

    http://lyris-lite.net/upload/lilo4.jpg

    http://lyris-lite.net/upload/poca1.jpg

    Also, a really bad underexposed shot of F-Zero GX running in 480p:
    http://lyris-lite.net/upload/fzerogx.jpg
     
  12. Lego

    Lego
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Dual samsung 172x's
    LG RZ26LZ50
     
  13. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    And here's my LCD on my MESS of a desk, showing an actual TV picture.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Dr Pete

    Dr Pete
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here's my Sharp 45", with Monitor Audio Silver Series speakers, 450W Kurlo SW and Marantz 8200 Amp. Sound is awesome and now the picture quality matches!
     

    Attached Files:

  15. leew914

    leew914
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +7
    heres my attempt!! :thumbsup:
     
  16. CosmoKramer79

    CosmoKramer79
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it just me, or do you fellow 9986 owners in this 'ere tread place your front speakers ridiculous close to the screen?!? It kinda ruins the whole idea of surround sound imo, you could just as well be using your screen as fronts then. No ill meant critique, was just wondering...
     
  17. Paulomeandi

    Paulomeandi
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    How about a couple pics of it with the screen on? Its so big for an LCD screen!
     
  18. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +225
    Great thread :thumbsup:
     
  19. originalbadboy

    originalbadboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Here is a shot of my new Samsung LE26R41B, its a pretty crappy picture, couldnt be bothered to do a proper one, but will do.

    [​IMG]
     
  20. zag2me

    zag2me
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    228
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hmm dont seem to be that many LCD owners willing to submit pics?
     
  21. acemelhaz

    acemelhaz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    194
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +13
    hi i was looking at some of your pics there great thinking bout geting a philips 9830 but wondered how you manage to hide all wires running down wall like sky, dvd , xbox etc thanks
     
  22. peahead

    peahead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    St.helens
    Ratings:
    +261
  23. ash

    ash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,036
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +383
    peahead, is this a new model right?
     
  24. Caimbeul

    Caimbeul
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Messages:
    734
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +26
    Sorry to go off topic slightly but - Lyris, how are you running your GC in progressive? is it a US/JAP machine??? :confused:
     
  25. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    Yeah, it's American. If you bought the PAL version though you can use a Freeloader to boot American games and still get 480p. It's the software that's crippled over here, not the hardware.

    Lego - that setup - :smashin: - most of all because of the nice clean look everything has. Where did you get all that furniture? I'd love to my corner of this little room a serious gutting.
     
  26. Caimbeul

    Caimbeul
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Messages:
    734
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +26
    cheers for that just ordered freeloader1.06B, am forced to play with composite at the mo :( ( :suicide: ) will try and find a commponent cable in the uk....! :rotfl:
     
  27. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    CD WOW have the Freeloader in stock. You'll need US/Japanese games that are compatible with Progressive scan as well of course.
     
  28. ButtonUPS

    ButtonUPS
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    270
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Haywards Heath
    Ratings:
    +2
    :thumbsup: good news at risk of changing the direction of the thread where can i get a good component cable?
     
  29. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    You can get the ONLY Component cable here for just over US $40:

    http://www.play-asia.com/paOS-13-71-24-77-3-15-gamecube+component-70-14s.html

    (Hope there's no forum rule against linking?)

    I don't think Nintendo ever took Progressive Scan seriously. They took the "Digital AV Out" port off the later GameCubes because only 2% of users used the function. That's because they never sold the cable in stores, you had to mail order it from them or from an export web site like that.

    And don't ask me why you have to get Analog Component output from the console's Digital Output port. There's a little Digital->Analog conversion chip in the end of the Component cables, which I think makes them expensive to make, it's pretty bad design and it probably explains why the third parties weren't lining up to make cables.
     
  30. reklor

    reklor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +185
    Right heres my (ever changing modest living room set up)

    Its only showin regular sky and DVDs look 10 time better :devil:

    The pics are rubbish and dont do it justice.......also not in shot is a PS2 and US GC.
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...