1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Get your diagrams out for the lads!

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Planet__, Nov 26, 2003.

  1. Planet__

    Planet__
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    292
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +10
    With all the questions regarding connections and remembering I was there once :)laugh: it was only a few months ago!) I thought I would start this thread and post a pic of how my system is finally set up. Hopefully it will help, plus it gives me a chance to get my crayons out!

    [​IMG]

    It may not be the best or cheapest way to connect, but I have my reasons...

    So come on, get your diagrams out for the lads!
     
  2. Kazuya Mishima

    Kazuya Mishima
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,416
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Ratings:
    +65
    Nice diagram...what software package have you used to do this?
     
  3. Planet__

    Planet__
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    292
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +10
    Funny, I was asked that when I posted version 2!

    It's Macromedia Fireworks MX - download yourself a 30 day trial and start drawin'!
     
  4. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Well I'm almost embarassed to post this but here's mine...

    Done with PowerPoint - perhaps I'll get around to jazzing it up one day.

    Why have you got 3 different audio connections from your DVD player to your amp - 2 of them digital?
    I've got iLINK for multichannel and stereo phono for CD playback, and that's it.

    [old image deleted]
     
  5. Planet__

    Planet__
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    292
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +10
    Nice diagram and setup, quite simillar! You reminded me about the USB connection on the amp!

    Fair question regarding the 3 sound connections - the analogue 5.1 isn't connected, yet. The two digital connections were done to test the quality of both really. Somethimes I switch between inputs depending on the cd/dvd, it does differ. It wasn't til I read the manuals a bit more that I found the analogue 5.1 is better for dvda and sacd. I should really get the cable for that soon, but I don't have any of that type of media.
     
  6. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Thanks :)

    Yours is easier to understand though with the colour coded cables so I think I'll "upgrade" my diagram :D

    I haven't tried the USB yet - still waiting for my 5 metre USB cable to arrive - £25 in the high street so I ordered online for about £4...

    And if I'm being totally honest - the plasma doesn't exist yet so all those connections are planned....if it ever gets released...:rolleyes:

    I thought iLINK was supposed to be the superior connection as it results in "jitterless" audio though?
    I personally can't hear the difference between optical/co-ax/iLINK or phono
    The only reason I've gone with 2 audio connections is so I can have dedicated inputs on the amp for DVD and CD.
    That way I don't have to change the sound mode from Movie<->Music when I'm playing a CD or DVD - just the input on the amp.
     
  7. Koing

    Koing
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice diagram the BOTH of you.

    Makes it easier to see how you guys hook up your systems.

    Koing

    again THANKS A LOT. Greatly appreciated :D
     
  8. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    In an attempt to claw back some self respect, here's v2.0....:D

    [​IMG]
     
  9. DucatiEVO

    DucatiEVO
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Impressive (that's with the drawing AND the hardware) :D

    I've downloaded the MX software and am playing around, damn RGB cables are causing me probs at the mo (as in did Planet draw 3 separate coloured lines to make the cables) :rolleyes:

    Rest is pretty much sorted. I'll post when it's finished.


    :)
     
  10. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Unfortunately PowerPoint will only do single lines for "connectors" so I had to resort to a different colour for each type.
    Good job I there aren't any more - I was running out of colours...:D
     
  11. Planet__

    Planet__
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    292
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +10
    Brogan, much respect gained! You gone all 3D on us, must be the effect of watching a plasma! Regarding your connections, I know the USB is only stereo so not the best for DVD, but good for mp3's. The analogue sound connections are the only ones geared up for the higher frequencies of DVDA and SACD, excellent if you've got ears like Spock! Spot on again regarding the inputs and the amp remembering what mode you last had it set at.

    Koing, good to hear it helps!

    DucatiEVO, good luck with MX, PM if you want any pointers (yes, they were 3 seperate lines for the RGB!).

    Anyone else getting there crayons out?
     
  12. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Thanks Planet.

    Haven't got the plasma yet but by all accounts they are starting to be delivered from today :)

    It's actually an iLINK connection from the DVD player and USB from the PC (the 868 doesn't have USB anyway, does it?)
    The conversion from PP to image modifies the colours a little...

    Regarding the multichannel analog connections, I thought the iLINK also handles 96KHz unless the discs are copy protected?
    And the added benefit of iLINK is it is jitterless.
    Rather a moot point anyway as I don't have and SACD or DVDA discs.
     
  13. Darren Blake

    Darren Blake
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    617
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norwich, UK.
    Ratings:
    +15
    In for a penny: Here's mine.

    The equipment is all fairly entry level, but I've tried to make it as integrated as possible.

    The stuff in dotted lines will be a part of the next phase in the new year.

    Sorry about the zip file - I have nowhere to host a large pic.

    ***EDIT*** Missed a link out!
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Nice.
    Why have you got audio inputs from your amp to your PC?
    Is that for listening to radio, etc. in the study?

    I've just received my USB cable so I'm going to run that in today and see how it works.

    If you sign up here: http://www.tripod.lycos.co.uk/ you can get 50MB free for hosting pic's, etc.
    You can use FTP Explorer to upload. It's free. Get it here: http://www.ftpx.com
     
  15. Darren Blake

    Darren Blake
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    617
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norwich, UK.
    Ratings:
    +15
    Cheers :D

    The TOS from my amp to PC is so I can sample from my DVD player and CD player at the best quality. I started to dabble in video editing before my wife got custody of the camcorder. I also have an MP3 player in my car, but copy protection on some CDs is starting to make direct ripping a bit hit and miss. This way I can fall back on ripping through the TOS link.
     
  16. DucatiEVO

    DucatiEVO
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Getting used to MX now so here's what I got so far, few decisions to make still on connections and still got to add my PC and Cable/Sky box in when i work out the wiring. It's not so polished as the others cos I'm doing it at work but I'm getting there and will revise as necessary! Not got the 2+3 slot board in the Panny yet as I found out you can only use either S-VHS or Composite, not have both. So resorting to a scart switcher for now (and it's cheaper). Still gives you a rough idea.

    P.S gave up on the RGB lines in the end! :D

    Kits getting on a bit, but still sounds ok to my naff ears :smashin:

    [​IMG]
     
  17. togad

    togad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2002
    Messages:
    291
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Nice work chaps.

    This is something I've been meaning to do for a while, but have yet to get round to it as it's rather complicated. But as a taster...

    http://www.meridian-audio.com/apps/565wire3.pdf

    Then you have to add in the following:

    Meridian 562V3 multimedia controller
    Meridian 518 processor
    Meridian 500 CD transport
    Pioneer 504 Plasma
    Pioneer 656 DVD (naturally, soon to be replaced!)
    Sky+
    TiVo (networked)
    Audiotron (networked)
    Xbox (networked)

    Probably going to be getting a Philips iPronto soon so that I can 'effectively' network absolutely everything.
     
  18. superga1999

    superga1999
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
    First of all I must say a big thanks to Joe - great service!

    Here's my diagram, your thoughts please. Have I connected everything up the best way?

    Cheers,
    Superga1999

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Nice pic' (showoff :D ).
    Which software did you use to put it together?

    All looks good to me.
    About the only thing I would add would be an analogue pair from the 868 to the AX5.
    That way you can have both DVD and CD inputs set up differently.
    I have the DVD input set up as multi-channel DD and the CD input set up as DIRECT.
    Unless of course you prefer to use the iLINK interface for stereo playback and don't mind changing the settings each time.
     
  20. superga1999

    superga1999
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
    I used Visio 2003, had a play with Fireworks but found Visio easier to use.

    That's a good point about about the audio. Direct is preferable for music?
    Howabout SACD and DVD-Audio I'm keen to have a listen, these require the capability of the i-Link interface?

    I like your storage unit below your screen, where did you get that from - it looks like a neater solution than a glass cabinet off to one side and easier to hide the wires too?
     
  21. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    I prefer DIRECT for music as I don't like to 'colour' the original sound at all.
    Others prefer STEREO or even multi-channel processing :rolleyes:
    Yes, you will need the iLINK interface for SACD and DVDA.
    Or, you could always run 3 pairs of phonos if you wanted to go analogue.
    It's the ubiquitous Oppli unit from IKEA.
    A bargain at £50 and perfect for my needs.
    The wires going to the screen are simply hanging behind the centre speaker so there was no building work/redecorating required at all. :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...