General Home AV Set Up Queries

churchill

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I recently purchased my first house and am looking to get started with a decent AV set up. I've never done a proper AV set up before and I'm a bit clueless on the sheer amount of products and technology available these days, so am hoping someone can provide me with a bit of a starting block! Apologies for the number of questions!

In the living room I'm envisaging a smart TV mounted on the wall, with a 5.1 surround sound system. The cabling from the TV and the 6 speakers will come back to a common location where I can put all of the gear. As well as watching regular Freeview TV, there'll be a Blu-ray/DVD player and games console. As well as that, I'd also like to be able to plug in other random HDMI devices (like a laptop), and 1 or 2 axillary audio devices (by means of a 3.5mm jack), to make use of the surround sound speakers. On top of that still, I'd like to be able to connect my smartphone/tablet to the TV and surround sound to be able to output video/audio from the smartphone/tablet through them (by means of screen mirroring or similar). Lastly, I've also got a server/NAS that has offline audio and video on it, that I'd like to be able to play through the TV and speakers.

1. Am I right in thinking that all of these various devices would/should all plug back into one common receiver? How would the server/NAS connect? Would Plesk/Chromecast or similar be of any use here?

2. Would the smartphone connect to the receiver in some way? Or would the smartphone typically just connect point-to-point to the smart TV?

3. Would an amplifier need to sit in between the receiver and the speakers? Or do most receivers these days come with speaker level outputs?