1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

General DLP usage question

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by zAndy1, Mar 10, 2005.

  1. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,376
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,487
    Do you have to take the same care with a DLP TV as you do with e.g. an LCD projector? I'm thinking about the bulb. For example it's not advised to switch a projector off and then switch it on again shortly after, is this the case with a DLP TV, does it need time to cool down properly after use before it's ok to switch it back on again? I just want to make sure I don't inadvertently shorten the life of the buld on my HD-D45.

    Cheers,
    Andy
     
  2. St_ve

    St_ve
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,059
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes just switch it to standby on the RD50 the red light flash's for 30 secs before turning red & you cannot turn the set back on for 2 mins it's to allow the fan to cool down the bulb .Using the mains switch will shorten bulb life unless it has been in stanby for a couple of mins first.
     
  3. digitize

    digitize
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same thing for my Sagem50, so I assume it will be the same for the Sagem45 which you intend to buy... and all other DLPs... The clean shutdown and slowstart will help to lengthen the bulb life


    technology works this way - immitate, integrate, innovate...
     
  4. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,545
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,498
    It should be in your manual. :)
     
  5. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,545
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,498
    LOL.... Thats true. All you need is a pc, an internet line, modem, printer with toner, paper, mouse and keyboard.

    Its that simple.
     
  6. Chris5

    Chris5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Herts., uk
    Ratings:
    +122
    My Rd50 just removes the picture for the first 30 seconds, so you can switch it back on again in that time if you want, then there is another 30 second when the set is actualy switching off (1 minute total) it also works the other way, when switching on (again another 1 minute cycle)
     

Share This Page

Loading...