Gears of War faulty discs

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by liteon, Dec 15, 2006.

  1. liteon

    liteon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    HI
    just wanted to ask anynody if they have had problems with gears of war, my disc keeps stoping and saying the disc is dirty. The only thing is this is my second copy of the game as the first had the same problem and the disc is perfectly clean. This is the only game which this happens on as my other games play fine. Just wanted to know if anyone else has had this problem?

    Woz
     
  2. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    37,297
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +10,023
    I might be wrong but it sounds like your drive is on its way out because when they start to have trouble reading discs that have nothing wrong with them then it is not a good sign.
     
  3. Member 55145

    Member 55145
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,483
    yet his other games play fine?

    could be a faulty batch of discs... wouldnt be the first time. i dont buy many games but metroid prime and FFVII for PC were two i remember that had faulty discs
     
  4. liteon

    liteon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi thanks for the reply all my other games play fine, both the gears of war have been the limited edition versions might ask at the shop if they have had any problems.

    Thanks
     
  5. Ico.

    Ico.
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Mossley.
    Ratings:
    +498
    I had this problem with Oblivion and got Game to change the disc, still had the problem. Then PGR3 did it a few times and eventually Just Cause. Each time it was after around 45 mins to an hour. Eventually I found out the 360 was overheating and causing the problem (it was only 7 weeks old!).

    Took the 360 back to Game for a straight swap with no problems and the new one has been working fine.:rolleyes:
     
  6. redmarkred

    redmarkred
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +88

    That's how the trouble with my 360 started. Got read errors with Oblivion but no other games. Then eventually it started to happen on other games :(
     
  7. liteon

    liteon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Oh dear hope it doesnt start doing it on other games then, I have had the machine since launch day so stuffed if it goes faulty. Thanks for the replies.
     
  8. liteon

    liteon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Forgot to ask Ico when you say yours was over heating did the console feel warm on the outside aswell, as mine feels cool and the case doesnt get warm.
    Thanks
     
  9. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    37,297
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +10,023
    Might want to think about taking out the extended warranty, just incase it does die in the next few months.
     
  10. Ico.

    Ico.
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Mossley.
    Ratings:
    +498
    Yeah the case was a little warm, and the discs did get quite hot!

    Hope you get it sorted.:)
     
  11. Azzin

    Azzin
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    23,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,072
    I *don't think* you can do it once it's out of it's original 12 month warranty...
     
  12. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    37,297
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +10,023
    Apparently according to MS the original 1 year warranty doesnt end until the end of December so you still have a chance.
     
  13. mjw123

    mjw123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +32
    Have experienced this same problem about 6 times since getting the game !
     
  14. liteon

    liteon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi

    will look into the extended warranty, but I think its as azzin said dont think you cant do it once it is out its original warranty.

    Many Thanks for the advice, might hire one from block buster to see if it is a faulty batch of discs.
     
  15. liteon

    liteon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi

    Thanks indiana jones will look into that, mjw123 if you have had the same problem I might contact the game company and see what they say will let you know if I get a reply.
     
  16. liteon

    liteon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi

    Just thought I would let you all know I have just looked on epics website which you can then go to the gears of war forum. There are alot of people complaining about the clean your disc errors and problems with the game freezing while playing. Doesnt seem to be any reply from epic about it though. People on the forum reckon it could either be software glitches with the game or cheap discs that have been used as people are having the same problems with brand new consoles, at least my machine might not be on the way out!!. If i find anything else out I will let you know.
     
  17. rEVILospud

    rEVILospud
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Messages:
    2,295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Shoreham-by-Sea
    Ratings:
    +235
    I got the 'clean the disc' message a couple of times last week. Once in Single Player and once in Co-op (in completely different parts of the Game). I looked at the disc and it seemed to have the most tiny circular scratch; I took it back to Game, got it replaced and it seems to be running fine so far. My machine btw was replaced by Game only a week ago, so hopefully thats not the issue at all.

    They're getting to love me, coming in every other day moaning about something :)
     
  18. kasumi

    kasumi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    872
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    wigan
    Ratings:
    +33
    I've noticed my gears of war disc having difficulty reading while in game as it slows & stutters the play occasionally.
    None of my other 7 games do this.

    I've said it before and I'll say it again, the 360's dvd drives are a piece of sh!te.
     
  19. BFassassin

    BFassassin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I am getting a lot of disk read errors as well. Its really annoying. I hope they can do something about it
     
  20. TEVEZ032

    TEVEZ032
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +95
    i had loads of disc read errors on PES6; swapped the disc in GAME and had none since... :D

    g
     
  21. RottenFox

    RottenFox
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    17,179
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    +56°28' 10.92"/-2°59' 21.48"
    Ratings:
    +4,289
    the original gears of war disc i got,when i phoned to exchange it,i tested it,and it did not lay flat on the unit,almost like it was bent,like the edges of a plate..warped even..took it back and got another,and thats been fine.
     
  22. bignige

    bignige
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    718
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +32
    It's not your drive, it's the discs. Lots of people are reporting the same disc error.
     
  23. leamspaceman

    leamspaceman
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    7,915
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,460
    I've had this error a few times, right at the start of the game. Am nearly at the end now and haven't had anything recently. Every other game I play is fine. My 360 doesn't get in the least bit warm and the discs are never hot, even after extended gameplay sessions.

    I also have a mate who just got a 360 and the first game he played, with the 360 just out of the box, was GOW...and he got the same error.

    I dont think it's the console myself...I think it's something to do with the game and/or the disc.
     
  24. rEVILospud

    rEVILospud
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Messages:
    2,295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Shoreham-by-Sea
    Ratings:
    +235
    Got the 'clean disc' message last night on my new copy of the game. It has only happened this once, but worrying nonetheless.
     
  25. DC

    DC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +10
    This happened to my standard Gears of War disc. Took it back to Gamestation and got my money back as all they had in stock was the limited edition copy. Seems funny that the same Gamestation is only selling the Limited edition due to lack of stock and has done for the last few weeks!
    Anyway bought another copy from elsewhere and touch wood all has been fine.
     
  26. crocket99r

    crocket99r
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    101
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just thought I'd add that I got my (standard) copy around 4 days before it was meant to be released, don't know why, and (touch wood), never had any problems so far.
     
  27. steve tyler

    steve tyler
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chigwell,Essex
    Ratings:
    +15
    Hi mate,yeah I get that exact same error but it only happens now and then,and it`s only on gears and no other games.Strange.I did get the ring of death (3 lights) about 3 weeks ago but touch wood everything has been fine since.
     
  28. liteon

    liteon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi

    strange thing is I am now on the last act of the game and it has not been doing it, so I replayed one of the earlier acts and it started doing it again. So maybe its only on the early stages of the game.
    Have a good xmas everyone
     
  29. KSK MAfio

    KSK MAfio
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milan
    Ratings:
    +6
    I got the error message today at the last level... I have finished the game once already without any problems. Now is working fine (sometimes gets a little bit slow….

    I hope is not the 360.

    PS: I got the limited edition
     
  30. Scen3

    Scen3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +5
    I have just started having this problem too, my xbox360 is only 2 weeks old. I've already completed gears of war and it was running smoothly however when i played it all over again in hardcore mode @ campaign.. it keeps freezing at the bit after you kill the beserker in that greenhouse. Xbox was running for a bit and the disc was hot so will wait in the morning if i still get it. everything else was fine like playin live and so on.. plus i dont play that much.. about an hour or two. then switch then after 5 hours or so.. i'll probably play again for 1 - 2 hours. dont understand this.. MS SUCK HARD. seriously.. couldnt they have atleast built decent working systems.. i never had any problems with my psone and ps2 (which I've had over 5 years).. I opted to go for MS this time because it was alot more cheaper than ps3. I mean you can talk about whos better or cheaper or w/e. At end of the day i want a decent console that is reliable and durable not to start having problems after 2 weeks!!!!!!!!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...