Garage - IB with FI 18's and VAS equation - Question and advice

Maxx reload

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,
Garage conversation costings arriving with a projected completion date this year all being well. I would like to ensure I have the VAS equation correct and seek advice on which of the two options would be the preferred or optimal route .

My vas equation

Single Fi 18, 381 Litres
X 4 Fi 18’s = 1,524 or 54 Ft3

54ft3 X 10 = 540ft3 volume required for an IB

Is that correct ? On the current working that it is I have the following options for my IB garage build

1) IB with 2 x Fi 18s at @ 8- 10 X VAS volume
2) IB with 4 X Fi 18’s at @ 5 X VAS volume

I am not sure what the best route would be and the difference between the two options would be from a listening perspective .

Any help, thoughts or ideas would be appreciated . I’m completely new to this and have been working towards an IB build for a few years now…however if the two options are both equally as poor(?) I have the option to scrap the IB build and go down more traditional routes

It may be a crude way of doing it, but have you tried modelling both options in Winisd? You can create a sealed box with the VAS you have for each option and that should give you an idea.
Splitting into two manifolds with 2 dual opposed drivers in each is likely to yield a better in room response and be kinder to your garage too. :)

I had not thought of that option, a good shout thanks. I'll work them and see what the results are.

The manifolds are built as the 2 dual opposed drivers with my plans to bolt them to the ground - though I should decouple from the ground ?

its a shame to loose the 'space' of the IB within the garage but I'm keen to give it a go, as its unlikely I’ll have another chance to try an IB.

It may not be a bad idea to bolt them to solid ground, if you can.