1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gaming slow down on FARCRY

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by (GTV)Chris, May 23, 2004.

  1. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hello

    I play Farcry but have only tried the online side of it recently.
    The single player side was fine, reducing the detail somewhat to help.
    But when I play online it all starts ok and within 3 minutes it becomes a slide show...Anyone know why?

    My system is

    Athlon 2800
    512 MB ram
    Geforce3 card...

    Do I need a new GFX card?

    Chris
     
  2. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +731
    Have you got the v1.1 patch for FarCry and have you got the latest drivers for your GFX card? And does it happen on all servers that you join?
     
  3. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    All latest drivers and patches installed. And it does, pretty much, happen on all servers.
    I run XP btw.

    Ta

    Chris
     
  4. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,441
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +265
    I think it's dead buggy at the moment I'm afraid. I can only join if I disable my firewall as I get punted every few minutes if I don't :confused:
    I feel the multiplayer side is in it's infancy and a few more patches are needed to optimise it. I'll give it a few months then try again.

    Why not install the demo of Joint operations to get a quick fix of multiplayer it's a real hoot and a completely free frag fest:)
     
  5. Iain Shields

    Iain Shields
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2001
    Messages:
    786
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Ratings:
    +3
    Just steer clear of the American servers of Joint Opperations, everyone I've tried had plenty of idiot's blowing up their own sides equipment :mad:

    (GTV)Chris, this may not help your online play but a new graphics card and a bit more ram will deffinately help the game rum, I'm surprised it's running smoothly now on a GF3!!! :eek:

    Regards,
    Iain.
     
  6. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    I know, A GF3 :D
    I am looking at buying a Radeon 9800 pro (128mb) - That should speed the buggers up. I have tried joint operations but that is very slow as well. It's got to be the gfx card.
    I have a 1MB broadband line - so the local sites should be good.
    I am a Counter strike and Call of duty junkie and I always get below 40 ping.
    Cheers

    Chris
     
  7. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,793
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,108
    Didn't like Joint Operations at all, really a slower BF1942 IMO. Mind you I am a little biased against tactical FPS as I find them quite boring.

    Lots of people have been raving about it though, so it does appeal to a lot.

    Personally I am still with CS as I found Far Cry not particuarly exciting after I got over the initial effects of the graphics.
     
  8. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    I still don't know if a better graphics card will help??
    It appears that it is the ping that knackers me up.
    It starts at about 50, and within 10 minutes it is at 300???
    Does anyone have a clue if this is hardware related?

    Ta

    Chris.
     
  9. cliocarl

    cliocarl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    334
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +4
    I also prefer to play counterstrike online much more fun, long standing quality game that has been, is, and will be around for a long time yet.

    I too however now need a Graphix card to experience quality gaming on my recent Sanyo Z2 projector purchase :D
     
  10. DDave

    DDave
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your problem is that low shadow detail has a bug where it leaks fps so gradually gets worse as does your ping , I also used to have this problem with my gf3 but then got a 9800 pro and could run on higher settings.
     

Share This Page

Loading...