Gaming Rig Help

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by TrueDink, Nov 27, 2010.

  1. TrueDink

    TrueDink
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Durham
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm wanting to put together a decent gaming PC. I've had a look around and have put together this list.

    [​IMG]

    Can you give me suggestions/opinions on this list and if it's all compatible.

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2010
  2. Miss Chief

    Miss Chief
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    7,823
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,187
    Do you really need a blu-ray writer? Somehow, unless you're doing video editing, not really. i'd also swap that GTX 465, it's a Palit one and their stock cooler is noisy and makes the card run hot. Swap it for either a GTX 460 1GB (gigabyte do a great one, I've got it!) or use the cash saved from the blu-ray writer for a GTX 470. You have also specced Windows 64 Ultimate. it's hugely, vastly overpriced from the Home Premium edition for not much of a real-life, usable difference. Save your cash. You could probably get an intel core i5, maybe even push for an i7 with a GTX 460, DVD RW, 4GB Ram for the same price if you make a few sensible decisions. I also can't help but notice there's no case, and no aftermarket cooler?

    if you do want a blu-ray Reader, they're half the price you've quoted for a blu-ray writer. Knocked up this very quickly. not much more than your kit, and includes everything except monitor, mouse and KB.

    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us
     
  3. TrueDink

    TrueDink
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Durham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Miss Chief.

    Should of mentioned i'm building a HTPC out of my existing kit so I already have a ASUS TM-250 Mini tower case so need a mATX mobo. Could this case be the basis for a decent gaming rig? I also have a ATX case but its beige and no looker.

    Wasn't sure if I should go liquid or air to try and keep noise down.

    Does the i7 give better performance bang for buck than the Phenom?
     
  4. TrueDink

    TrueDink
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Durham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is this any better?

    [​IMG]

    Didn't realy want to spend this much as i've still got to buy bits for my HTPC but budget will stretch, just.
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2010
  5. Miss Chief

    Miss Chief
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    7,823
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,187
    Again a blu-ray writer. if it's a HTPC you're going for I doubt you'll need a writer. Save a few bob by taking an OEM version of windows 7 as well. Not too clued about AMD these days but it looks fine to me.
     
  6. mrbobc

    mrbobc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,052
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +424
    you wont notice a difference between the phenom and icore cpus if your just gaming. seriously, i have both and have an i7 right now in my main rig but ive got another pc with an amd tricore thats just as good for gaming (oc'ed)

    i promise you, you will save yourself a lot of money for not much loss going amd. :smashin:
     
  7. TrueDink

    TrueDink
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Durham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info.

    Going back to Windows, I have OEM Vista on my current PC which will become my HTPC and after a little research (i.e. not being able to put retail version of 7 on 2 PC's at the same time) was thinking of getting 7 upgrade for it. Would Vista be ok on my HTPC or would you go for the upgrade?
     
  8. mrbobc

    mrbobc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,052
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +424
    vista will be fine. windows 7 is just a streamlined version of vista and when tested, i believe, is no slower than W7. (well was when it first came out anyway)

    gotta say i didnt notice much of a difference when i got it tbh, except for the new features of course which makes it better but not £80 better
     
  9. thereapersheat

    thereapersheat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think the best O/S is going to be windows 7 Pro 64bit ome
     
  10. TrueDink

    TrueDink
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Durham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Think I will stick to Vista on my HTPC for the moment and maybe upgrade in the future.

    Any more thoughts on the list I put together for my gaming rig?

    Thanks.
     
  11. mrbobc

    mrbobc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,052
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +424
    thats a pretty decent set up. if your already over budget but are happy with that then go for it :thumbsup:

    if your looking to save a little more, you could probably find a cheaper 4gb ram kit. the differences again are negligible these days and do you really need a bluray writer?? you could get a bluray player for half that and just a normal disc drive for £70 less.
     
  12. TrueDink

    TrueDink
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Durham
    Ratings:
    +0
    I really want to justify getting the bluray writer, but not sure I can anymore. Wanting to run this rig for a couple of years (hopefully) so wouldn't getting a writer now make sense. I will be writing blurays in the future.

    Thanks.
     
  13. Miss Chief

    Miss Chief
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    7,823
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,187
    Ok, then you have to consider the price of a writer now compared to, say September next year when you start using one and they're half the price they are now. And how much are the blanks these days? last time I looked they were about £8 each although that was months ago.
     
  14. TrueDink

    TrueDink
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Durham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea, I think your right. Maybe a year down the line when blanks come down in price a little.
     
  15. thereapersheat

    thereapersheat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also will you have the file size to need to burn to blue ray?

    and with getting a blue ray player dont you need a tv in card ?
     
  16. apul

    apul
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    689
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Durham
    Ratings:
    +19
    I believe the USB 3 on that MB (Asus m4a88tdm evo usb )uses the top PCIe x1 slot leaving you with no spare x1 slot for anything else after installing a graphics card. I would have gone for this one otherwise. Currently I'm looking at the similar prices Gigibyte Gigabyte GA-880GMA-UD2H 880G mATX which has usb 3 on the backpanel.

    If you do go for the Asus board please let us know whjat you think.

    Thanks
    Paul
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2010
  17. TrueDink

    TrueDink
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Durham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info. Havn't decided what i'm going for yet. Will let you know as soon as I do.
     

Share This Page

Loading...