Gaming PC Power Supplies

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by Sniper Ash6, Jan 1, 2012.

  1. Sniper Ash6

    Sniper Ash6
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    27,843
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +7,608
    Think you know your power supply requirements? Have a go at this then :)

    A friend has tonight been playing with a plug in power meter to see what the computer he's playing with pulls from the wall. He's running a 990FX-UD7 with an AMD FX-8150, 16GB DDR3, 2x 6990s, one mechanical HDD and a 1200W 80%+ gold PSU

    His first test was running BF3 on ultra with everything at stock. What do you think he saw the meter peak at?

    He then OCed the CPU to 4.4GHz with 1.5Vcore and ran Furmark's burn test along with Superpi 32M. Again, what do you think he saw it peak at?

    Finally, with the CPU still OCed but just sat idle on the Win 7 desktop (all power saving features off) what do you think he saw the meter read as the peak draw?

    Unfortunately I don't have pics of the results but do know them so will reveal them after a few days of guessing. I do reckon most will be surprised though.
     
  2. Theydon Bois

    Theydon Bois
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    16,137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Sauf Lunden
    Ratings:
    +7,208
    The fact that you said surprised to me means lower than we would think so my guesses ate 575, 650 and 400.
     
  3. Hillskill

    Hillskill
    Moderator/Games Reviewer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22,483
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere being wrong but staying strong
    Ratings:
    +5,441
    Rock N Roll way to see in the New Year :D
     
  4. SparkShot

    SparkShot
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,005
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +516
    i always run mine on a power meter for a few days at first just to check the power saving features are working on my system.

    My current set up pulls around 280-350 when gaming and around 90w when idle.

    i'm gonna says ash ash's mates rig pulls around 550-600w when stressed and 150w when idle.
     
  5. Sniper Ash6

    Sniper Ash6
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    27,843
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +7,608
    What else are you meant to do after playing BF3? :D
     
  6. jellofund

    jellofund
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Fife
    Ratings:
    +1,274
    Was going to say 575 but as TB has already bagged it I'll plump for 617w.
     
  7. Sniper Ash6

    Sniper Ash6
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    27,843
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +7,608
    Maybe I'm bluffing :p
     
  8. DeanE

    DeanE
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    9,636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,680
    600, 700 and 350, maybe not in that order depending on what the results are :D
     
  9. Sniper Ash6

    Sniper Ash6
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    27,843
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +7,608
    I'll post the actual results later
     
  10. wolvers

    wolvers
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,464
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Buckingham
    Ratings:
    +1,113
    700, 1000, and 200?
     
  11. JDCFH

    JDCFH
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4,324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +588
    On. The. Edge. Of. My. Seat!! ;) :smashin:
     
  12. alphaomega16

    alphaomega16
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    13,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Southend on sea
    Ratings:
    +3,336
    ^^^

    Android user right there :D :rotfl:
     
  13. JDCFH

    JDCFH
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4,324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +588
    Hahahaha not yet... Not until the end of the month anyway :D
     
  14. fluff34567

    fluff34567
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    199
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    can someone post a link to a power meter please?
     
  15. wolvers

    wolvers
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,464
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Buckingham
    Ratings:
    +1,113
  16. Sniper Ash6

    Sniper Ash6
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    27,843
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +7,608
    Results:

    Everything at stock was 520W
    CPU OCed but GPUs still at stock pushed it up to 630W
    The CPU still OCed but sat idle saw it sat at 234W

    Remember that these are the peaks as well

    While it does show that Bulldozer uses an incredible amount of power when overclocked, the whole thing doesn't add up to as much as most would think.
     
  17. wolvers

    wolvers
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,464
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Buckingham
    Ratings:
    +1,113
    Doesn't sound anywhere near high enough. :confused:

    Are you sure he's getting 100% usage on all 4 GPUs? One 6990 pulls ~300W more than idle on it's own under full load so there should be ~600W from just the 6990s. Also, an overclocked 8150 should be adding ~350-400W to that under Prime. I'm only going on what the reviews says but something is surely not fully loaded somewhere?

    Edit; in this review they pull ~900W in full GPU stress, no extra CPU stress.

    http://www.guru3d.com/article/his-radeon-hd-6990-crossfire-review/9
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2012
  18. Sniper Ash6

    Sniper Ash6
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    27,843
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +7,608
    That's what he measured. The first result was BF3 on Ultra at 1080p, the second was loading the CPU to 100% and running Furmark's burn test and the third was then idle.

    We did both think them very low results compared to what you'd expect though
     
  19. TheNameIsJambo

    TheNameIsJambo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    6,139
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Fife
    Ratings:
    +1,696
    Hmm.. So does that mean Skyrim is an energy efficient game if it only allows 2 CPU cores (Lets say 50%) and 50% of your GPU to be engaged?

    :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice