Gaming on Vista 64bit

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by Miyazaki, Jan 5, 2007.

  1. Miyazaki

    Miyazaki
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +850
    Is there any point getting a 64 bit vista?

    Will it be able to play any games like medieval 2 total war, company of heroes etc, or should I get vista 32bit?

    seems a shame to have a 64 bit cpu and not utilise it! :rolleyes:
     
  2. booyaka

    booyaka
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    11,012
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +3,535
    IMHO i would stick with XP for the time being - too many bugs potentially/lack of drivers etc to be rushing out to get vista.

    personally will wait for a good few months before i dive into vista!
     
  3. Astaroth

    Astaroth
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +894
    I have windows xp 64 (was cheap as OEM and came with free upgrade to vista business 64 or such) and to date very little doesnt run on it and none of the things that doesnt run are games.

    I am sure the majority of games gain no benefit from the 64bit processing but certainly some of the other apps I run do faster. With an overclocked E6600 and 8800 g.card all games are running at full speed at max settings for my monitors so there is certainly no detriment to it.
     
  4. Joe Pineapples

    Joe Pineapples
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    7,674
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +1,307
    I tried the RC1 vista a few months back (64bit version), and while things will probably get better with driver optimisation etc, i tried the performance benchmark built into 'company of heroes' and experienced an average 10fps drop (same settings) over XP. Needless to say i went straight back to using XP.
     
  5. DarkDogZA

    DarkDogZA
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,376
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    North-West London
    Ratings:
    +119
    is there any reason to upgrade to vista at all...
     
  6. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    22,637
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +3,346
    Aero glass? :D

    ...seriously the big benefit is Direct X 10 surely? With a number of DX10 titles coming this year (hopefully!) it's an upgrade many of us will be wanting sooner rather than later I would have thought. Furthermore aren't some new games going to be Vista only...Halo 2 (don't laugh) for example? And what about the new Xbox Live style service?

    Personally I'll let Vista settle in for a few months and then upgrade my whole PC around June - including Vista Home Edition.
     
  7. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    27,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +6,203
    I saw a review of a Vista PC in a mag and it was getting frame rates of 30 on Doom 3 with the same spec machine getting frame rates of 113 on XP !
    I think there are some tweeks still to be done on Vista and I suppose there will be a big "Service pack" soon after it's released, or should that be bug-fix ;)
     
  8. Drizmod

    Drizmod
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +4
    I'm running Vista 64 RTM with the latest 64 bit drivers from ATI and x-fi drivers. All games that I have tried run great (CS Source, HL2, WOW, Guild wars). I think most games will still work but through the 32 bit emulator. 64 bit vista so far has worked flawlessly. It runs much smoother than XP. Mind you I am running it on a decent system (6600 @3 ghz, 2 GB mem, X1900XT, xif)
     
  9. Zombane

    Zombane
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,964
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Boston
    Ratings:
    +245
    I'm a bit confused as to which vista to get. I have a Vista-ready PC (8800GTX etc), but not sure which one to upgrade to as overclockers offer like 20 different versions!!!
     
  10. Miyazaki

    Miyazaki
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +850
    DX10 is the only reason i'm upgrading.
     
  11. Miyazaki

    Miyazaki
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +850
    I'm definately getting the home premium version, but can't decide on 64 or 32 bit.
     
  12. the_lurker1

    the_lurker1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I was thinking about doing this too but I read somewhere that this should not be looked at as a cheap way to get Vista. Apparently you need to provide details about the new pc (as it was oem and meant to go onto a new pc) - I can't remember where this was but a google should find it.
     
  13. Astaroth

    Astaroth
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +894
    I did replace every part of my PC other than the keyboard and monitor so for me that shouldnt be an issue. Unless they have changed the OEM licencing terms it used to be very vague and said little more than the software could only be sold with PC hardware which is why retailers used to insist you bought a mouse or such to meet the criteria. The form I got simply asked for a reference number and the name of the company bought from which were precompleted when it turned up.
     

Share This Page

Loading...