1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

gaming on plasmas,is that the true test when it comes to screen image retention?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by SILVERBACK, Jan 15, 2005.

  1. SILVERBACK

    SILVERBACK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    3,814
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    birkenhead
    Ratings:
    +73
    obvioulsy we all know about screen burn(in extreme cases) but image retention is the more common problem im told.now basically im aware of the fact that the black bars (side or top n bottom) are bad for the plasmas at an early stage aswell as sky logo`s etc but what is the situation with consoles and image retention? is this the biggest threat to the screen? i wouldnt say im a gaming addict but i do like the odd mammoth session when it comes to a great game (san andreas,pro evo,gotham blah blah) so would you say gaming is a :nono: for the 200 hour run in time? and how long do you play your consoles on your plasmas for ?
     
  2. dave0523

    dave0523
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +1
    I use my PS2 for fairly longish periods (so do the kids aswell!!) with no problems.
     
  3. tradesman

    tradesman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    not being much of a game freak myself (stopped at PS1) I dont think consoles is what plasmas were meant for, home cinema's more the ticket any future problems with plasmas could eventualy be dismissed by the manufacturers
    as down to exessive game use and thus not covered by any warranty.
    just the thoughts of an old sceptic :nono:
     
  4. SILVERBACK

    SILVERBACK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    3,814
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    birkenhead
    Ratings:
    +73
    stopped at the ps1,SHAME ON YOU lol.thanks for the input guys.
     
  5. saintalan

    saintalan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +47
    Shame on me -- I stopped at the old Paddle Tennis, tried to get in to Space Invaders but gave up...with my Hitachi 42/5200 on order maybe I should take it up again. Then again maybe not I'd only worry about screen burn the speed I play :)
     
  6. stu954

    stu954
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just take a break every hour now and switch to tv for 10mins.Any image retention soon goes away.Should hopefully get better once the screen has been run in.
     
  7. cwick

    cwick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +95
    I took it easy for the first 100 hours or so with my PWD6, but since then I've had no worries. 8 hour GT3/PGR2/Halo sessions are not unheard of, and I've had no problems as a result.

    Cheers, Carl.
     
  8. Steve_P

    Steve_P
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,338
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Ratings:
    +142
    I didn't game on my set for the 'run in' period and after that I've had no problems with my PS2. No image retention troubles at all :thumbsup:

    S.
     
  9. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +203
    Use an RGB lead to connect my ps2 to my 37" Viera. On a friday night a mate of mine comes round, the berss gets drunk and the playstation gets played for around eight hours. In fact he didnt leave this morning untill 6am. That over 10 hours of gaming :eek: . No problems on the viera, although my eyes are quite saw :D
     
  10. edinburgh160

    edinburgh160
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had my plasma for just over 2 weeks, and am swaying away from playing xbox on it. I'm terrified of getting retention as I was playing Halo2 for about an hour and although the image went away I will wait probably a month or so before going and trying again.
    W/S films with ratio that give black bars are the same. it does go away, but I am treading carefully for the first month or so.
     
  11. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,882
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    Bloody chicken :rotfl: ;)
    I'll only be watching films that dont have the black bars top and bottom, and as for games i'll still use my sony tv untill i've run around 200 hours up. in my house that won't take very long anyway.
     
  12. edinburgh160

    edinburgh160
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yep, I'm using old 29" to play xbox at the moment. Still , the black bars aren't putting me off watching films. Must have about 200 hours by now :)

    Wife watches MTV all the time, and that logo is constantly on (even in ads), and she doesn't understand all this.
    Why do these channels always insist on putting that crap in the corners.
     
  13. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,882
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    I really do believe there should be an option on the sky box to turn these off, i think we know what bloody channel we are whaching. and that goe's for that red dot as well. :mad:
     
  14. davegtt

    davegtt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    had my Viera since a few days after christmas, playing Pro evo soccer 4 on it every other day for at elast and hour and not had no probs with it. seems fine to me
     
  15. Rcww

    Rcww
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +23

    May be the manufacturers should create a feature where you can put a block the logo out with a movinf image!! :D

    Actually why not use the pip function to block out the logo, I know it might be anonying but if anyone who is a bit worried then it;'s an option
     
  16. Carlos13

    Carlos13
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is "picture retention" where some pixels stay lit for a few seconds after they should have changed? I saw this yesterday in Curry's when I switched the menu off the LG PX11, some of the pixels where the menu had been stayed green for a few seconds.
     
  17. SgtHowie

    SgtHowie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    The dot is very annoying but if you press Back Up the red dot goes. Will come back after an ad break though. (I don't actually have Sky, but remember doing this on a friend's set and he was very pleased!)
     
  18. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,882
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    Yes if you press back up it doe's go but after the 50th time in one night it starts to get old. :laugh:
     
  19. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    you have a panny the most resiliant screen
     
  20. DIZZ

    DIZZ
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    SURREY
    Ratings:
    +2
     

Share This Page

Loading...