Gaming/Computer Headphones?

D

dethwing6

I'm new to headphones, but there was a thread on gaming forum I frequent suggesting that equally priced headphones are much better than speakers. Wanting to be rid of the hassle of 5.1 surround sound and the hissing white noise, I was interested. Since it's tax return time, I'm looking to purchase a Sennheiser HD-595. It will mostly be used for gaming and listening to music on the computer. I have a few question for those who use headphones in those situations:

1. Did you use 5.1 systems before? Do you miss it(the surround sound)? Do you miss the thumping feel from a powerful subwoofer?

2. Is it hard to hear other things happening outside the headphones? I'm going to have trouble convincing my other half to let me buy these if I can't hear anything going on. Like a phone call.

3. Can you wear the headphones all day?

Thanks for any response.

fish99

There is another option. Go with quality stereo speakers. Have a look at something like Roland DM10 monitors, which have amp/digital receiver built in. They're much smaller than hi-fi bookshelf speakers. Having said that, I've never used them. Another option would be hi-fi mini monitors (as long as they're shielded) and some sort of amp or mini amp.

Not saying HD595 aren't a good option though. For music they will be superb, even connected to a PC soundcard, which obviously won't get the best out of them. They should sound excellent for games too. Sennheiser phones have plenty of bass usually, but no, you won't get that 'thump' your sub does. As for 3d sound, the X-Fi is supposed to do a very nice 3d sound spatializer effect on stereo headphones. Whatever you do, don't get 5.1 headphones (Medusa, Zalman types) though, they're terrible.

HD595s are open back, but you'll still have some trouble hearing other things. A ringing telephone is pretty loud though. Comfort wise you should have no problems, but headphones are more tiring to listen to than speakers.

NicolasB