Games for a laptop

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by RockStrongo, Oct 14, 2005.

  1. RockStrongo

    RockStrongo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +53
    Hello,

    I've just ordered a dell inspiron 6000 (1.4GHz, 64MbATIRadeon mobility X300) and want some advice on a game.

    Think I'm not going to have much luck running FPS with a touchpad so fancy a strategy game. Something a bit like Age of Empires I played about five years ago . . .

    Any recommendations? Or any games that will run well on a laptop? I heard that commandos is good.

    Thnaks
     
  2. Miyazaki

    Miyazaki
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +850
    You only have a 64mb laptop mate. There aren't going to be many games that will run on a 64mb agp mobility card.

    Make sure you have the juice switched on when you play games as the card and cpu run at a slower rate on batteries.
     
  3. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +228
    I have a similar lap top but cant use it for games. Yes it has a gpu (X300) but its not really designed for hard core gaming.

    I use my lap top for simple stuff like work and some video watching.

    You can play older games on it like say command and conquer, or star craft, but I wouldnt try to play the latest FPS on it.
     
  4. Uridium

    Uridium
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    14,434
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    North West Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +1,855
    Used to have one of those, (well similar model) and found it played Soldier of Fortune2) and original medal of honor ok. (800x600 and options toned down a bit)
     
  5. RockStrongo

    RockStrongo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +53
    Hello again - as I beleive I said, I'm not going to be running FPS games. Surely I'll be able to run less graphically intense games though? If my seven year old pentium 133 can run Theme hospital I would have thought that my laptop might be able to cope with something like age of empires . . .

    The laptop isn't for gaming, but I thought I maight be able to play something when dtuck on a train or plane . . .

    Cheers!
     
  6. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    44,858
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you'll never see.
    Ratings:
    +9,100
    If you are having trouble playing in real time what about some turn based games like Civilisation?
    I liked Heros of Might and Magic IV it very adictive.
     
  7. RockStrongo

    RockStrongo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +53
    Never played Civilisation. Is it any good?

    And should I be going for the original or waiting for Civ IV? Will that play on a laptop?
     
  8. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    44,858
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you'll never see.
    Ratings:
    +9,100
    I preferred Civ II to Civ III you need 95 MB for Civ II. You should oick Civ II up for around £2.99.

    The graphics are a bit basic for these days but the game play is very good if you like strategy games.

    By the way I messed the link up for my previous post it should work now (I hope).
     
  9. Uridium

    Uridium
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    14,434
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    North West Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +1,855
    Rollercoaster tycoon series was always a laugh and with the exception of RCT3 will run on anything even remotely "pentiumy"
     
  10. RockStrongo

    RockStrongo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +53
    Oh no, the post worked - and I might well buy Heroes after that review. Am looking at Civ II as well.

    Cheers
     
  11. VintageMark

    VintageMark
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2001
    Messages:
    160
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +0
    It depends entirely on the game...

    I have a HP TC4200 Tablet PC and it plays World of Warcraft perfectly...

    Mark.
     
  12. Solomon Grundy

    Solomon Grundy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    13,606
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    oop north.
    Ratings:
    +3,211
    Football manager 2005?
     
  13. RockStrongo

    RockStrongo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +53
    Anybody know what Rise Of Nations is like? Does it take alot of power to run?
     
  14. Ethics Gradient

    Ethics Gradient
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    3,681
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    aka Billy Science - Suni ojna Tas
    Ratings:
    +430
    I run games like heroes of might and magic, Age of Mythology etc without any problems on my laptop - stick to isometric games and just avoid fps'ers --- although you could play older fps -- its not really worth it.

    At home I use my main computer for the latest games with all the bells and whistles - but when I work away, I have no problems with the laptop for god sims etc.
     
  15. pragmatic

    pragmatic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    12,150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,647
    EG would you not recomend Deus Ex 1, one of the best fps (actualy has a decent story) and should play on you laptop.
     
  16. Tetlee

    Tetlee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    20,319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Taunton
    Ratings:
    +4,820
    I used to love Heros of Might & Magic 3, forgot about that game ;) Recommended also and not demanding on the system.
     
  17. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    44,858
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you'll never see.
    Ratings:
    +9,100
    Yes its a great game but if you read the first post RockStrongo said he was having trouble interfacing with the laptop, not the laptop had problems running them.
     
  18. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    44,858
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you'll never see.
    Ratings:
    +9,100
    Same here I got in to the series with this one, great game in some ways better than IV some ways not.
     
  19. pragmatic

    pragmatic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    12,150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,647
    Buy a mouse? no good for on the plane but could use at home and even on the train if you got a table.
     
  20. RockStrongo

    RockStrongo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +53
    Hello,

    I've got a main computer and an Xbox at home I can play FPS on. I'm happy enough playing isometric God sims when away from home, so I might try some of those.

    Cheers!
     
  21. RockStrongo

    RockStrongo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +53
    Now then, I've been looking at Rise Of Nations which gets very good reviews and seems available at a decent price. Do you reckon this will work on my laptop?
     
  22. pragmatic

    pragmatic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    12,150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,647
    Is the laptop a pentium m, if so i doubt you'd have much trouble althogh it was a graphicaly intensive game as most things are in 3d.
     
  23. RockStrongo

    RockStrongo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +53
    Hello,

    It's an intel Celeron M 360 (1.40GHz 1MB L2 cache 400MHz FSB) & ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300 with 64Mb.
     
  24. JayList

    JayList
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Civilization 4 , if your machine comes with a DVD rom. Should be enough to get you going. What more timekiller do you need?
     
  25. JayList

    JayList
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't find miniumun specs for Civ IV yet. I would buy this , over other versions if you can. I think it's going to be the most rounded version. If you can't run it then Civ2 was great. I wasted many a night at Uni playing a Civ all nighter.
     
  26. RockStrongo

    RockStrongo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +53
    Got the laptop and a mate gave me Warcraft III and Commandos:Behind Enemy Lines. Both work fine.
    Still tempted by Rise of Nations though. I wonder what the requirements are for Civ IV . . .

    Thanks for the help!
     
  27. JayList

    JayList
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    got it on order. Will let you know.
     
  28. pragmatic

    pragmatic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    12,150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,647
    If you can get some old dos games to work, transport tycoon deluxe is a keeper(better than rollercoaster in my opinion) and master of magic and for windows give master of orion 2 a go. The first two are abandon ware so you should find them on the net pretty easily and the latter will be availible somewhere i'm sure.
     
  29. DancingJester

    DancingJester
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +19
    I've got dells inspiron 8600 also with the 1.4 centrino proccessor and also a 64mb graphics (not sure which one, though) Rise of Nations ran fine for me, it is pretty much Ages of Empires with a sort of Risk type cover story, pretty good .... Age of Mythology and Titans kept me amused for longer though, am rather foolishly trying Age of Empires 3 and that kinda runs.

    On an aside Pharoah is a quality city building sim type game and that too runs fine, added bonus it can be had for £3.50 from amazon second hand here:

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/B00005B3ZG/202-1054061-0163849

    ..hope it helps
     
  30. pragmatic

    pragmatic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    12,150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,647
    I ran the demo of this an wasn't really impressed, the graphics weren't any better than rise of nations, with the exception of the water effect and reflections, which were the bet i've seen todate. They seemed to have tried to cram in loads of new ideas, including cards from RON and a new persistant city which i personaly feel like have been added simply because they look cool and not for balance or any other reason.

    In my opinion it doesn't seem to play as well as RON or AGE 2 and Myth, although the demo may just be crap.
     

Share This Page

Loading...