1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Games consoles and projectors? Should you or shouldn't you?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by IanW, Dec 18, 2003.

  1. IanW

    IanW
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,572
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +119
    Okay guys here is one for you. . . .

    Reading my games console instructions, most of them say that they are not supposed to be connected to a projector. Why is this? Surely I am not the only one to have mine connected? I am very concerned and do not want to damage my new baby. :blush:

    Ian.
     
  2. windfall

    windfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    LFC Kop End
    Ratings:
    +57
    Hi

    I have my xbox connectedto my amp - which in turn is connected to my PTAE100 and have been using it for nearly 1 year now - no probs as yet. I think the manual probably related to rear projection because of the image burn-in that used to plague the old rear projection tv's with static elements of the game for example the score would be permanetly be in one position.

    I cannot think of any issues nowadays though!

    Tone
     
  3. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No issues apart from all the hours you'll clock up on your lamp - been playing Crimson Skies on my HS10 (xbox/component/480p) for the last few days & it's addictive, addictive I tell you :devil:
     
  4. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,111
    There is no danger using consoles on digital projectors.
    There is a slight risk of burn in on static menus , readouts etc with CRT projectors,
    CRT direct view devices and plasmas although reasonable setting of the contrats control should minimise this.

    If its an LCD , DLP or LCOs don't even worry.
     
  5. theritz

    theritz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +27
    You SO should........ PS2 7ft wide..................... big grin territory...:D


    Sean G.
     
  6. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Xbox......8'.......480/720p...DD 5.1.......

    :p
     
  7. andy572

    andy572
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    361
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oop North
    Ratings:
    +2
    Did I just step into 'Get 'em out for...'?!? :laugh:
     
  8. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bet mine's bigger than yours too :D
     
  9. IanW

    IanW
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,572
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +119
    Oh, so I SHOULD then! :clap: :devil:

    Dead interested in Xbox via component, however, this is saved for the DVD player directly into the Domino 20. Everthing else goes via S-Video. I cannot bear to introduce any form of degredation (such as a video switch box) between DVD player and PJ, after all it is supposed to by home CINEMA.

    I suppose that I can put up with Xbox, PS2 and GC via S-Video on 7ft wide screen. :smoke:

    Thanks guys. :smashin:

    Ian.
     
  10. IainC

    IainC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why is it that Lightguns won't work with projectors?

    If the surface was a bit shinier would it work?

    Wasn't something I'd erally thought about until the other day when I'd borrowed a projector from work and had been watching films, etc with mates, we then fired up the PS2 and after some WRC2 put on a game that needs the lightgun and of course it wouldn't work.

    What exactly is it that causes it to fail?
     
  11. SJR

    SJR
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    IIRC light guns work by seeing the scanning beam that a CRT television produces as it passes in front of the light gun optics. By the console knowing where the beam should be at any given time, It can work out where you are pointing the gun. Obviously digital projectors don't scan to build up their picture, so the console can't work out where the gun is pointing. I think any form of digital picture processing also messes up light guns, as there is normally some sort of delay caused by the processing.

    Steve
     
  12. IainC

    IainC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wasn't until we'd fired up the game that we'd even thought about it. Had been quite looking forward to playing it on a 105" screen :D (well it was onto a bare wall but was good enough for us).

    I take it that there isn't really anyway to get a lightgun to work with anything like that to get a decent size, plasma only I guess?

    Cheers,
     
  13. SJR

    SJR
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm sure it doesn't work with a plasma either. A plasma TV doesn't scan. In fact a friend of mine couldn't get a light gun working on his 100Hz CRT TV. I think that unless the picture is scanned in real-time as on a normal 50Hz TV, the light gun is as good as useless :(

    This is only my experience mind, there may be people running a light gun on other displays quite happily, but I would imagine the only big-screen that may work would be a CRT projector or rear-projector. Unless of course it has line doubling, which would probably introduce a delay in the scan again (digital processing). Bit of a shame really :(

    Steve
     
  14. IainC

    IainC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    But it would work on a CRT projector?

    I did hear about issues with 100Hz TV's but like I said I never really thought about it until it didn't work.

    It's a pity though, had been looking forward to it :)
     
  15. SJR

    SJR
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unfortunately I don't know much about CRT projectors. It may be worth asking in the CRT projector forum. If it scanned the picture directly off the input video, I imagine it would work pretty well. I had a feeling old CRT projectors used to work like this, but I would have thought newer models have line doublers etc built in. I could totally wrong mind ;)

    Steve
     
  16. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,111
    The issue is with digital sampling stages introducing a timing mismatch between what is displayed on screen and what the console is expecting to see.

    If you feed 576i into a CRT projector it may still work as long as the CRT is showing an interlaced picture. ( the picture will suck though).

    This topic has been done to death on here and various other forums. The lightguns that claim to work with 100Hz TVs frankly don't .
     
  17. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
  18. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,111
    Read the blurb.
     
  19. Klippie

    Klippie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    623
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +55
  20. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Beware if you're on 56k, the first page is 3 MB :eek:
     

Share This Page

Loading...