1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gamecube Digital Output

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by GadgetObsessed, Mar 23, 2004.

  1. GadgetObsessed

    GadgetObsessed
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +618
    A few questions for a Gamecube nubee.

    Does the digital output cable on the Gamecube connect to a DVI connection on an LCD monitor?

    Does the connection also carry sound?

    Where can I get the digital cable in the UK?

    Does it work for all games on a PAL UK Gamecube?

    Thanks
    Gary
     
  2. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    Use the standard cable for sound, check Lik-sang.com for component and DVI cables
     
  3. buzlightyear

    buzlightyear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    945
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +116
    As far as i know, the Digital output will not work on a PAL cube only a JAP/USA one.
     
  4. t-force

    t-force
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Ratings:
    +99
    The digital output will definitely work on a PAL cube (you will need to source a component cable or D-cable from somewhere), but Prog Scan will only work on a PAL cube that's using Freeloader + an NTSC game that features prog scan (e.g. Metroid, Animal Crossing, Zelda, F-Zero, Viewtiful Joe, SC2 etc).

    It's rather odd that the PAL cube still supports Prog scan but there you go. I have my PAL cube hooked up using the component lead, and running prog scan it looks awesome.

    I don't really know that connection is at the other end of the D-cable. Might be a DVI, but I really don't know.

    The digital output definitely does not carry sound, unfortunately.

    Interestingly, Nintendo are now releasing Cubes in Japan which have the digital output completely removed.
     
  5. cwick

    cwick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +95
    It's not DVI, some wierd japanese connector (D-Terminal). Nor is it 'digital' - there's a DAC in the cable which, for both the D-Terminal and the component cable converts the signal to analogue.

    Component cable is good for, er, component. D-Terminal cable is handy if you want VGA since, although the component cable can be converted to VGA, it's easier to convert the D-Terminal to VGA. And, as a shameless plug, I have a new, used D-Terminal cable knocking around (was intended to convert it to VGA, but never got round to it). I'll let anyone who wants it have it for £15.

    Cheers, Carl.
     
  6. Solar

    Solar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,539
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +477
    i was under the impression the GC supports Dolby Pro Logic 2
    which is digital ? am i right ?
     
  7. RL123

    RL123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,037
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +4
    Yes it supports it but it's analogue. It's a stereo signal that the GC sends to the amp, which converts it into PL2
     
  8. Geezer

    Geezer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,813
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +25
    Indeed works very well on the cube too
     
  9. RL123

    RL123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,037
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +4
    Far better than the Pro Logic 2 I've heard from the PS2 anyway. Games like Zelda and Metroid sound like they are practically 5.1 :)
     
  10. elitedono

    elitedono
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    More to do with how well they were mixed i presume. Rebel strike has stunning sound. Get a 7.1 speaker sytem to use PLIIx on that game of course.

    About the DV out. I think Nintendo overestimated.
     

Share This Page

Loading...