1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GameCube component gaming

Discussion in 'TVs' started by KingOfHyrule, Dec 25, 2004.

  1. KingOfHyrule

    KingOfHyrule
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wooo...just got a brand new HDRPTV (Samsung SP42Q2HL) for Christmas - what a beauty! :) Also got the GCN Component Cable and couldn't wait to try it out...although when I tried out a few games (even in Progressive Scan mode) I was unpleasantly surprised at the mediocre quality.

    I've heard so many good reviews of this cable; that the quality is simply amazing - but I find it hard to find a significant difference between Component and the official RGB cable - am I doing something wrong? Is it the TV that needs tweaked for maximum viewing? I also found that I could change the colour levels of the picture - a little strange for a digital input?

    Suddenly Samus and little Link look much, much more jagged and rough than they did with the good old RGB on a 21" model - not what I was expecting at all. Can someone please help me? Thanks very much, Merry Christmas to all!
     
  2. Thunder

    Thunder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +14
    Its probaby just due to the fact that you have blown the image up to twice the size your used to. Console graphics do have jagged edges and low detail its just that its more noticable on a bigger screen :)
     
  3. KingOfHyrule

    KingOfHyrule
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, true - I was expecting some distortion and it is quite noticeable a few feet away from the screen, but I think I was probably expecting uber-high visuals from the component cable like I'd heard from most sources. Ah well, beggars can't be choosers :laugh: Thanks for the reply mate!
     
  4. GagHalfrunt

    GagHalfrunt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Messages:
    522
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    North Cotswolds
    Ratings:
    +3
    Moved from CRT Projectors forum
     
  5. mr ooops

    mr ooops
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    3,592
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Hardwicke and Wotton
    Ratings:
    +353
    silly question, but i'll ask it, are you holding down the correct button on the controller to force progressive scan on the cube?
     
  6. Mr THX

    Mr THX
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Ratings:
    +31
    Another silly question but what button is that ?? and does it work with an RGB scart lead ??
     
  7. charlaph

    charlaph
    Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dundee
    Ratings:
    +2
    It won't work with an RGB scart cable.

    Hold down B as the game is loading and if the game is prog-scan enabled then you'll get a screen before the game loads asking you if you want to enable/disable prog scan. If you don't do this or if the game doesn't do prog scan then you'll just get a composite image.
     

Share This Page

Loading...