Gamecube Component Cable Question

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by Epicurus, Aug 7, 2006.

  1. Epicurus

    Epicurus
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3,699
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +694
    I recently got hold of a platinum Cube and hooked it up via supplied composite to my HD LCD. It looks pretty fuzzy and dreadful, much worse than my original black cube looked on a CRT (now happily living in a foreign country).

    Scart also looks dreadful on the LCD (tested with the black before it moved abroad) and I can guess s-video will look bad too.

    So it is tempting me to get a component cable from Ebay or Liksang/Play-Asia as my new Cube has the digital . The thing is I am not sure how it will affect my UK Pal games.

    What resolution is the Cube running at via composite or scart leads? Will 480interlaced with the component make a noticeable improvement? Will having a higher quality connection like the component cable by itself give a better quality picture regardless of any resolution change?

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. Chewy

    Chewy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    On my pal games I've noticed quite a drastic improvement.

    Windwaker as an example looks absolutely incredible, switching between the composite and component when it's running is like :eek: .

    Completely worth the money in my opinion.

    (get it!)
     
  3. KTroopA

    KTroopA
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +97

    just using the component cable you will see a big difference in the sharpness and colour contrast in games. I went from S-video thru a scart block and it was a big jump. If you enable prog-scan mode (hold b button on boot up and select YES) you will be running in true 480p. Its def worth it. get the cable and you will see :)

    currently playing wind waker and it looks gorgeous :D
     
  4. Epicurus

    Epicurus
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3,699
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +694
    Thanks for the advice guys, exactly what I wanted to hear so I will order one.

    P.s. from my understanding progressive scan is only a function of NTSC games not Pal?
     
  5. Doomy

    Doomy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    383
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wellingborough
    Ratings:
    +13
    Make sure its a cube with the relevent Digi out on the back. The later ones apparently do not have both video outputs like mine (analogue/digital)
     
  6. Epicurus

    Epicurus
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3,699
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +694
    Yeah thanks for advice but Id already checked that, it was an old Windwaker Plat Pack that I got from Toys R Us for £30. Guess it had been sitting on their shelves for a couple of years!
     
  7. Pantera6

    Pantera6
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    353
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    i wouldnt mind one of these.
    where can i get one?
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    its a bit of a grey rea and varies from game to game but the 576i output for PAL games is much better than RGB scart which gave me horrible horrizontal lines on a 42" PDP
     
  9. Doomy

    Doomy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    383
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wellingborough
    Ratings:
    +13
    Just noticed as I posted :)
     
  10. Mr-Bananas

    Mr-Bananas
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,508
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +397
    Your best bet is to get the region free games playing thingy from Datel, then get yourself games from the US.

    You will then be able to run the games in 480p. Only then will you see an improvement over RGB scart or interlaced component.
     
  11. Anotherlimey

    Anotherlimey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    6,113
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +930
    Just looked at the Component cable at Lik-sang and it only shows 3 leads that plug into the TV, Doesnt a component normaly have 5 as to carry sound also? :confused:

    Sorry just worried as the cube doesnt have a optical
     
  12. kez

    kez
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,321
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leeds, West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,307
    my component cable only carries video. connects to the digital out.

    sound is carried via the analogue out.
     
  13. Anotherlimey

    Anotherlimey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    6,113
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +930
    Oh so i can use the original analogue lead to connect the sound to my 5.1 system ? :)
     
  14. kez

    kez
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,321
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leeds, West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,307
    :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...