1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Game GC RGB Scart Cable

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by CrispyXUK, Apr 19, 2004.

  1. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    Hi all,

    recently bought this cable as it has phono outputs on it to wire up to my amp but was wondering if the official RGB cable will offer better performance? I dont want to waste £20 if I dont have to.

    Thanks
     
  2. BIONIC MAN

    BIONIC MAN
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    941
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Nasa
    Ratings:
    +37
    I don't have the Official RGB cable for the cube
    But the word on this forum is Yes it does offer better Performance
    than the cheaper cables :smashin:

    I'm using Component , but would say it's worth the extra cash for the Official RGB cable


    :thumbsup:
     
  3. bossc@

    bossc@
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    1,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +221
    Hi Crispy

    Theres loads on here re the third party leads for GC but the Official one is regarded to be the best. I bought a Game lead when the GC came out and it was crap. I wanted it for exactly the same reason as you - for the separate audio to an amp but the picture really was very bad.

    I managed last year to pick up 2 official ones from Dixons in Redcar when they first started to offload their GC stuff for £1.97 a piece (they were labelled on the shelf at that price but oddly enough scanned though on the till as PS1 cables:laugh:)

    Any way that you can take an Audio feed from your TV and put that into the amp?
     
  4. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +723
    AFAIK the offical one is a RGB Scart only, i.e it doesn't have RCA cables attached to it, so you can connect it to an amp, unless you connect your TV to the amp(if your TV has RCA outputs on the back)
     
  5. bossc@

    bossc@
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    1,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +221
    Is there an echo in here?:rolleyes:
     
  6. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    I dont have a TV, im going to the projector, maybe I should bodge the official lead.
     
  7. bossc@

    bossc@
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    1,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +221
    The plot thickens....!

    Why not get hold of the component connectors if its feeding a PJ?
     
  8. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    Got a dreamcast too, so I need to use RGB
     
  9. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +723
    bossc@ - oooops, sorry, just read your post
     
  10. <<ERROR>>

    <<ERROR>>
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maplin (and others, I believe) sell in-line SCART breakout connectors - plug it in between the 'cube cable and the TV and you can usually feed off composite video and both audio channels.

    God knows what it'll do to the composite video channel (or the sync, in the case of RGB) - you are effectively adding a low-valued capacitor across the wire if the composite breakout is left unconnected. It might have almost no effect at all, but then again, it might smooth half the signal into oblivion.

    Perhaps they sell ones for audio only, or perhaps they can easily be disassembled so that enterprising people can remove the composite connection and hence the added capacitance.
     
  11. puddleduck

    puddleduck
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,814
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lake District, near as dammit
    Ratings:
    +50
    I use the Argos RGB SCART switch box for this (about a tenner) and just use the analogue RCA outputs from this box to route audio out to my amp.

    (I use a £3 Ebay RGB cable and it works just fine)
     
  12. bossc@

    bossc@
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    1,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +221
    Are you sure its RGB though as any of the SCART cables will pass composite.
     
  13. puddleduck

    puddleduck
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,814
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lake District, near as dammit
    Ratings:
    +50
    Are you sure its RGB though as any of the SCART cables will pass composite.

    Yes, its definately RGB enabled. (tested by toggling RGB on / off on my SCART box)

    Its got all the "symptoms" of RGB too - ie darker, clearer picture. Slight picture shift to the right etc etc...
     
  14. bossc@

    bossc@
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    1,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +221
    Nice one. I know i tried a couple in the early days but after using Non RGB enabled AV2 Scart socket on the tv it was clear that they were not RGB. I know that Nintendo did a bit of a rewire job on the GC output to scupper third party cable manufaturers - I suppose it was only a matter of time before they caught up.:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...