GAME component lead no good for me ...

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii-U & 3DS' started by Sword, Dec 20, 2006.

  1. Sword

    Sword
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    372
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    d'oh, the audio inputs on my amp are a mile away from the video inputs in the back of my panny 7 :(

    The GAME lead will only allow a maximum separation of about a foot.

    I can either get some audio lead extenders (bit more dosh) or get another component lead that has more scope for separation between the audio and video feed inputs.

    Anyone know if any of the other component leads will give me more - or am I best off just extending the audio feeds?

    ta,
    Sword
     
  2. Kube

    Kube
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    5,384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Armagh
    Ratings:
    +369
    The official ones are short as well. Its not expensive for a connector and extension phono cables though.
     
  3. sukhy5

    sukhy5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    West Brom
    Ratings:
    +46
    Go to maplin.co.uk and find yourself a phono extension lead. I ordered mine on Sat night and it should be delivered today!! It cost me around £7 inc delivery.
    Hope this helps:smashin:
     
  4. Killie81

    Killie81
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Armadale - Nr Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +10
    I got mine for £3 delivered from Ebay..

    Maplin, Ebay or any reasonable place will have extension leads pretty cheap

    From what I have seen, most of the Component cables don't have very long audio leads.
     
  5. Sword

    Sword
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    372
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks, that's really helpful guys, I'll just get some extra leads.

    Sword
     
  6. The_Wierd

    The_Wierd
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +702
    Can you not just connect the audio cables to the plasma, then the plasma's audio out to the amp? That's what I've done so that whatever is shown on the TV can be heard through the amp. I can't hear any drop in audio quality doing it this way either.
     
  7. cassidy

    cassidy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    Mad catz ones are very short too btw. Same goes for the official ones
     
  8. DorKnight

    DorKnight
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +35
    I picked up a Phono Coupler for 75pence and just used some existing leads I had in a draw - It does the job fine on my Official Lead :)
     
  9. KingOfGondor

    KingOfGondor
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    559
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    doesn't the official one allow you to separate all the leads apart like the composite lead?

    i was hoping this was the case
     
  10. DorKnight

    DorKnight
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +35
    No, it's not built the same.
     
  11. KingOfGondor

    KingOfGondor
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    559
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    crapola!
     
  12. Tony_T

    Tony_T
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Here & There
    Ratings:
    +18
    Yup, I did this with mine.....

    Just got the lead from Game yesterday and can see absolutely no improvement over the standard composite lead, I changed the Wii output to 480p too... btw, I'm using a Sony 40W2000....

    Should there be any difference in quality between the Game lead and the official one?
     
  13. cassidy

    cassidy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    Can you pick one up for me dorknight? Or tell me where you got one for 75p?
     
  14. DorKnight

    DorKnight
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +35
    I got mine from the indoor market in Cardiff, I've noticed they're rather cheap on eBay - Drop me a PM if you want me to order one off eBay for about £1-60
     
  15. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    5,063
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +593


    Dude,

    Just get a phono extension lead. picked a 3 meter lead up from the market for £1.60 and works a treat. Same issue as you. PW7 on the wall Amp is on the floor.

    Works fine. Your really notice the difference in the output of the picture aswell - :thumbsup:

    Dal
     

Share This Page

Loading...