1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gale GS-401A Speakers (one for the oldies)

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by chips, Jul 24, 2002.

1. chips

chips

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +22
    I have a pair of these which I bought in the early 70s. Chrome end caps.

Is this the same Gale who now make budget speakers? The GS-401A's were very expensive and sounded excellent back then. I used to drive them with an HK930, in fact it's still in the loft.

How would these speakers compare with modern high end stereo units?

2. Guest

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Pair on eBay not too long ago, IIRC. Prob be nice if no driver-rot and x-over is tip-top. Good Hi-Fi will always be just that but I've no first hand knowledge of these. I recall the all-metal cabinetted Gales of the 80's and they were reviewed well. The Gale of today is yet another Richer Sounds re-branding exercise, prob from the same factory as their "JPW" speakers with a different badge put on at the end of the conveyor belt.

Mike.

3. Ian J

Ian J
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    I think that they are American and were expensive. Gale is a Richer Sounds trade name and their speakers were made in the same OEM Plymouth factory that also made JPW and a few others.

The Richer Gale had quite a good budget floorstander seven or eight years ago which What Hifi gave five stars.

In response to the original question, try a search on the forum as I recall someone ,mentioning that he had a pair of USA Gales a few months ago.

4. chips

chips

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +22
    I'm pretty sure that they are british but will have a look tonight to see if it says anything on the label.

I think they made two models at the time GS-401A black with chrome endcaps and GS-401B in conventional wood.