galaxy s3 mobile data stopped working

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones Forum' started by mmurdoch, Aug 30, 2012.

Tags:
  1. mmurdoch

    mmurdoch

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +150
    As the title says for some strange reason when I turn mobile data on nothing happens no Internet & no notification on the top notification bar that Ive even turned it on.
    Only way I can access Internet is via my home router & wife.

    It used to work but has just stopped.

    Please help
     
  2. stunno

    stunno
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    951
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Ratings:
    +612
    1. Did you install or uninstall anything at around the time that the data stopped?
    2. Do you have anything in settings/wireless.mobile networks.access point names? If not google your providers details and ass them
     
  3. mmurdoch

    mmurdoch

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +150
    No not installed anything etc. Was working yesterday.


    ForumRunner_20120830_221208.png



    ForumRunner_20120830_221224.png



    ForumRunner_20120830_221245.png
     
  4. mmurdoch

    mmurdoch

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +150
    On t mobile if anyone else having problems
     
  5. ringmatt

    ringmatt
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +19
    Probably unrelated but my S2 would not download on wifi even though connected for a few hours earlier. A lot of App updates including PayPal and Skype.
     
  6. mmurdoch

    mmurdoch

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +150
    My be t mobile issue will check tomoz.
     
  7. stunno

    stunno
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    951
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Ratings:
    +612
  8. mmurdoch

    mmurdoch

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +150
    Already had the settings sent. This is a pain in the ass.
     
  9. stunno

    stunno
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    951
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Ratings:
    +612
    This is odd! I've just turned my wifi off and I couldn't connect to the internet, I'd been playing about with exchange settings and think my work had done something to my settings that they shouldn't have!!

    Have you tried going into the Network operators section, doing a search and selecting Tmobile or Tmobile/ Orange?

    It just worked for me
     
  10. mmurdoch

    mmurdoch

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +150
    Yes tried t mobile & t mobile orange & still nothing happens.
     
  11. neilybealy

    neilybealy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,556
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +57
    I'm also having issues with lack of mobile internet on my s3....

    i can see the H or H+ and you can see the arrow up indicating it's requesting data but nothing comes down. I try switching off mobile data and/or enabling flight mode. Sometimes it will work and other times still no internet access and then all of a sudden it will work

    t-mobile twitter support first suggested i switch off wifi which i had already tried. then they said to switch off 3g as there could be slight 3g disruption in my post code but i've not been back at work since to try
     
  12. mmurdoch

    mmurdoch

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +150
    Now been resolved via t mobile help line.
    For some reason they had my mobile phone data package listed as mobile Internet the kind you use a dingle for in ya lappy instead of mobile phone Internet.
    Account now changed & working fine.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice