1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GA3/GA4 settings?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by top_caty, Dec 5, 2004.

  1. top_caty

    top_caty
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have now received the GA3 and the results have been a little disappointing, there seems to be a lot of digital artifacts on the image even from a DVD source. I've read that maybe the default settings aren't the best so I was wondering what setting people are using to get the best out of this LCD?

    To start the ball rolling here are the settings APC uses

    Note: Thanks APC for the settings
     
  2. jimg

    jimg
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +58
    Are you using these or do you have your settings?
     
  3. top_caty

    top_caty
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry I didn't make that very clear. I am using the default ones but will be trying these settings when I get back from work tonight.
     
  4. Ultim8Fury

    Ultim8Fury
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If my screen is anything to go by the default settings are awful. When I first turned it on I was worried I would never be able to watch TV again due to the shockingly bad picture. Some time later after playing with the AVIA disk and a THX setup thing on the T2 dvd I found things had improved beyond belief. When I finally finish wall mounting my sharp I'll post the settings up for my various inputs.
     
  5. aspender

    aspender
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    For what it's worth, seen as every room/source/ambient light combination is different, the settings for my LC-32GA4E with a Denon AV-F100 DVD system using component are:

    OPC = Off
    Backlight = -8 (lowest)
    Contrast = +9
    Brightness = +7
    Colour = +17
    Tint = +5
    Sharpness = -3

    Advanced settings:

    Advanced CMS:
    'Hue', 'saturation' set to default
    Value: Red +2 Y +7 G +7 M-5

    Colour Temp = Low
    Black level expansion = Off
    Film mode = On

    Other settings:
    DNR = off
    Quick shoot = Off

    All of that is set up using DVE (my first go with it, so still learning though) and aimed at a dark room, with ambient light coming from the hallway. I found DVE especially useful for getting the colour settings correct, everything looks very realistic and natural now.

    Settings for Sky through RGB are rougly the same, but DNR is on, as is quickshoot, and film mode is off.
     
  6. APC

    APC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow aspender, those settings are massively different from mine. I was aiming for an all-round approach that would do for all sources. Do you use different settings for ordinary TV?
     
  7. aspender

    aspender
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the movie mode set up with the posted settings, and use "Default" for Sky, though the brightness/contrast/colour settings aren't massively different.

    As I say, it has a lot to do with the source and the room you are viewing in, and your own preferences (and even eyes I guess!) have a part to play, so YMMV :)
     
  8. jimg

    jimg
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +58
    Different strokes for different folk!

    My 37GA4E is set as follows:

    OPC = Off
    Backlight = +4
    Contrast = +20
    Brightness = +6
    Colour = +3
    Tint = +15
    Sharpness = -2

    Advanced settings:

    Advanced CMS:
    'Hue', 'saturation' Value: set to default
    Colour Temp = Low
    Black level expansion = Off
    Film mode =Off
     
  9. top_caty

    top_caty
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just tried APC's settings and it has certainly improved the picture. A lot better :thumbsup:
     
  10. top_caty

    top_caty
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its suprising how different all of the posted settings are. It's not as if they are just 'tweeks' but completely different setups. Has anyone tried all the ones posted on this thread yet?
     
  11. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +373
    I have my NTL pass thru via scart to my Toshiba RDSX32 DVD recorder then outputed via component to the 32GA3e, when I look in the settings Film Mode is always Greyed out.

    why?
     
  12. jimg

    jimg
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +58
    Ironduke,
    Most odd, I have SKY+into Scart1 via RGB and DVD into AV3 via component. I have film mode availble on both.
     
  13. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +373
    These settings make DVD playback lustful :smashin:
     
  14. bobbytech

    bobbytech
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I plan to try this out this afternoon.

    I've tried all the suggested settings posted above and, for what its worth, my view at the moment is that those suggested by APC look best for general TV watching.
     
  15. thxultra

    thxultra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +4
    Been playing with the settings all day using DVE , Aria and video essentials and this is what i've came out with

    OPC= OFF
    Backlight= STD
    Contrast= +20
    Brightness= +2
    Colour= +11
    Tint= +6
    Sharpness= -3

    CMS HUE

    R = 0
    Y = -4
    G = 0
    C = -4
    B = 0
    M = -20

    CMS VALUE

    R = 0
    Y = +4
    G = +3
    C = 0
    B = +2
    M = -5

    Colour temp = MID-LOW

    Black level = off

    DNR = OFF

    QUICKSHOOT = ON

    All other settings on default
     
  16. MickyGee

    MickyGee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Preston
    Ratings:
    +1
    Anyone got any other settings they would like to post ? Interested in Panasonic Sky Box on RGB if someone out there has one connected to a GA3,4, or 5.
     
  17. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    18,770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +4,813
    Keep them coming lads,just about to order the GA5 32" sharp. :rolleyes:
     
  18. jgrg

    jgrg
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +33
    I have a Panasonic DSB40 Sky digibox, a Denon DVD3910 and a Sharp LC32GA4E.

    I watch with the room lights on. (Halogen downlighters.)

    I have "Quick Shoot" set to "On". (I had read that having it on increases picture noise, but I don't see this.)

    Contrast:

    I find that when contrast is set too high on the screen, the detail is bleached out of the bright part of the image. It needs to be set particularly low for the RGB input.

    On the digibox I find that midrange tones, particularly skin tones, are smoother when the it is set to "Contrast - low" (SERVICES - SYSTEM SETUP - PICTURE SETTINGS).

    On the DVD player I have contrast set to "-2" in the Picture Settings. This is similar to the digibox low contrast setting, giving more information and a smoother image in the mid and bright parts of the image.

    My settings for the Sky digibox via RGB Scart, and for the DVD player via DVI at 720p are:

    Code:
                   Sky RGB  DVD 720p
    
      Backlight         +4        +4
      Contrast         +10       +20
      Brightness       +20       +10
      Colour            +5         0
      Tint               0         0
      Sharpness         -5         0
    

    Under the Sharp's Advanced Picture menu:

    I always have black level expansion off.

    I find this very important: For the Digibox via RGB I always have the "I/P Setting" set to "Interlace". This is particularly important for watching sports, and anything else shot with video cameras. If it is set to "Progressive" you loose a lot of detail in the picture. (I suspect it is doing single field interpolation in "Progressive", so you end up with half the original vertical resolution.) When I'm watching film based material I set "Film Mode" to "On", which seems to work well. (I save this under the "Movie" mode, so I just have to switch AV MODE to get it.)
     
  19. deadred

    deadred
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +89
    After much tweaking this is the best set of settings for my set up (Panasonic freeview TU-CT30 fed via RGB)

    OPC = Off
    Backlight = +3
    Contrast = +17
    Brightness = +11
    Colour = -5
    Tint = 0
    Sharpness = 0

    Advanced settings:

    Advanced CMS:
    'Hue', 'saturation' set to default
    Value: Red +2 Y +7 G +7 M-5 (same as aspenders)

    Colour Temp = Low
    Black level expansion = Off
    Film mode = Off

    Other settings:
    DNR = off
    Quick shoot = On

    But no doubt i'll be tweaking again for movies, Xbox etc etc!!!
     
  20. MickyGee

    MickyGee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Preston
    Ratings:
    +1
    After several weeks of tweaking here are my Panasonic TU-DSB30 SKY Box settings on RGB for a 32GA4:

    Sky menu contrast setting = LOW

    They are similar to Thxultra's with a few variations.

    OPC= OFF
    Backlight= -2
    Contrast= +6
    Brightness= +11
    Colour= +12
    Tint= +5
    Sharpness= 0

    CMS HUE

    R = 0
    Y = -4
    G = 0
    C = -4
    B = 0
    M = -20

    CMS VALUE

    R = 0
    Y = +4
    G = +3
    C = 0
    B = +2
    M = -5

    Colour temp = MID-LOW

    Black level = off

    DNR = OFF

    QUICKSHOOT = ON

    I/P SETTING = INTERLACE

    Still not totally happy but infinately better the default settings. Also I think picture is getting better over time. Maybe they settle down with a few hours under their belt !

    Have ordered a calibration DVD to set up the DVD. Will post settings when sorted.
     
  21. mark88

    mark88
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +23
    Weird, I can't have "interlace" on when watching Sky at all. Any graphics(like Sky News) will just flicker, annoyingly.
     
  22. jgrg

    jgrg
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +33
    Yes, static graphics do flicker a bit (as they do on an interlaced CRT TV), but I don't notice it at my normal viewing distance (2.5m). I guess it will be particularly bad with Sky News because the colours of their graphics are so contrasty. I find that horizontally scrolling text graphics really hard to read in "progressive" mode.

    James
     
  23. MickyGee

    MickyGee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Preston
    Ratings:
    +1
    No problems with flicker at all, I just think there is a little more detail on some images with Interlace on. The benefit is a little subjective though.........
     
  24. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi all,

    These are my settings after tweaking for our 32GA3E calibrated with the help of DVE. It's done on a Marantz 4100 DVD player that doesn't show blacks properly (You know, the old types) so I turned down the brightness and upped the contrast to compensate for the Freeview which is a Digifusion FVRT100

    OPC = Off
    Backlight = -1
    Contrast = +26
    Brightness = +2
    Colour = +6
    Tint = +6
    Sharpness = -2

    Advanced settings:

    Advanced CMS:
    'Hue', 'saturation' set to default
    Value: Red +5, G +3 M -1

    Colour Temp = Mid-Low
    Black level expansion = Off
    Film mode = Off

    Other settings:
    DNR = off
    Quick shoot = On

    I'll be looking to get the Samsung HD945 in a couple of months so I'll be able to post settings for RGB, Component and DVI.

    IAnyone care to check it out and tell me if some of the settings are way out ?
    Richie.
     
  25. LcdGuru

    LcdGuru
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Using the RGB input from my Pace Sky box the picture looked terrible at first - both the blacks and the whites were crushed to buggery. (Sky contrast set to Medium)

    I found I needed to turn the brightness up close to max to bring the blacks in. Then turn the contrast down close to minimum to bring the whites in.

    Now it looks great. Obviously some weird levels coming out of the sky box.

    Moral: Use your eyes. Don't pay any attention to the control ranges. Roll on DVI & HDMI digital interfaces so we won't have to worry about these stupid settings any more!

    Incidentally: I think the terms 'brightness' and 'contrast' are mis-nomers for these controls. They should really be called 'Offset' and 'Gain'. The objective being to map analogue 0-100% on the input to digital 0-100% on the output. You'd think they could develop some better controls for this by now. eg. how about a meter or some indication to tell us when the whites are hitting 100%. Visually it's very hard to judge.

    PS.

    Colour Temp = Low (what we're they thinking with that washed out blue default?)
    Deintelacing = Interlaced. Make sure Film Mode is off for normal video else you get all sorts of weird combing effects on moving edges.
    Quick Shoot on/off - I'm still looking for a video sequence that shows the difference.
    DNR and Black Expansion OFF
     
  26. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi LcdGuru,

    Thanks for checking my settings. I've been tweaking the settings ever since, knocking the Contrast down a touch and raising the Brightness a touch.

    I think I've now got.....

    Contrast = +26
    Brightness = +2

    Thanks again,

    Richie.
     
  27. NNOMANN

    NNOMANN
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone got a Sagem ITD* freeview box connected to their Sharp? Although the picture quality is very good overall, I'm finding it impossible to get the right brightness setting - sunlight and bright reflections appear bleached and ends up coming out blue. I've not had this problem with any other components.

    Cheers!
     
  28. MickyGee

    MickyGee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Preston
    Ratings:
    +1
    Can you reduce the contrast on the freeview box ? On my SKY box setting contrast to low helped significantly.
     
  29. NNOMANN

    NNOMANN
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi.
    I sussed it in the end - the Sagem has an RGB Output Level setting in the installation menu. Setting it from Medium to Low fixed the problem.

    Cheers for your help!
     
  30. MickyGee

    MickyGee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Preston
    Ratings:
    +1
    Latest Settings as promised (at last). :clap:

    SKY RGB
    OPC= OFF
    Backlight= STD
    Contrast= +7
    Brightness= +8
    Colour= +12
    Tint= +5
    Sharpness= 0

    CMS HUE

    R = 0
    Y = -4
    G = 0
    C = -4
    B = 0
    M = -20

    CMS VALUE

    R = 0
    Y = +4
    G = +3
    C = 0
    B = +2
    M = -5

    Colour temp = MID-LOW

    Black level = off

    DNR = HIGH

    QUICKSHOOT = ON

    I/P SETTING = INTERLACE

    Samsung HD745 1080i component


    OPC= OFF
    Backlight= +2
    Contrast= +15
    Brightness= +6
    Colour= +6
    Tint= +0
    Sharpness= 0

    CMS VALUE

    R = +1
    Y = +6
    G = +4
    C = 0
    B = 0
    M = -3

    Colour temp = MID-LOW

    Black level = off

    Film = ON

    DNR = OFF

    QUICKSHOOT = ON

    Samsung HD745 768p PC Digital
    OPC= OFF
    Backlight= STD
    Contrast= +32
    Brightness= +1
    Red= +6
    Green= +1
    Blue=+1
    Sharpness= 0

    CMS VALUE

    R = +5
    Y = +4
    G = +7
    C = 0
    B = 0
    M = +7

    DNR = OFF

    QUICKSHOOT = ON

    Samsung set using PAL DVE.

    Over time I have notice the need to increase backlight slightly, maybe the tubes settle down with use ?
     

Share This Page

Loading...