1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FX68: Disabling SVM?

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by aliasnow, Apr 5, 2004.

  1. aliasnow

    aliasnow
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would to try to disable SVM.

    For those don't know what it is see Keoni
    As far as I know all calibrations via AVIA or VE must be done withOUT SVM turned on. I remember some TT-- could switch on/off this feature on my old KV29-X1A, but I've seen "SVM Test" TT mode on FX66 also.
    Someone that have experience about disabling SVM on modern sets can share?

    Thank you.
     
  2. nd4spd

    nd4spd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I also looked in the service submenus of FX68 trying to find the option to turn off this "feature" before I did the calibration, but unfortunatelly I haven't discovered it yet. I think the "movie" picture setting is having SVM off but to me "movie" is too dull in image and lacks definition. If HowieC doesn't mind;), I would kindly ask him if he knows how to turn off SVM in this chassis. His help would be much appreciated.

    Vali
     
  3. aliasnow

    aliasnow
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    mmm... if Service Manual is right should be TT36
     
  4. nd4spd

    nd4spd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you sure about that? I really want to switch SVM off, but i don't wanna mess up something... May I ask you for the service manual?

    Thanks,
    Vali
     
  5. aliasnow

    aliasnow
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    scan of service manual of FX66
    pratically the same of FX68 and LS60 at least for TT modes
    think that LS60 and FX68 are same chassis
     

    Attached Files:

  6. nd4spd

    nd4spd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok, the test switches it off for 2 sec just enough to see with the DVE's SVM pattern how bad is it with SVM on. Sadly, we don't know how to disable it... Maybe somebody is kind to help us?

    Thanks,
    vali
     
  7. aliasnow

    aliasnow
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    S**T!

    Something can be disabled for 2 secs can be forever... :mad:
    well, I have another code, if you are brave enough, I'm not in this moment. I haven't tried it on this set but yeah, I found it on another Sony set and works well.... so well that you can disconnect power and is retentive... until you switch it on again.

    ...but I don't know.... I don't want some risk for all :suicide:

    let's see service manuals...
    most of both is identical....

    ?confused?
     
  8. nd4spd

    nd4spd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    More than confused. What do you mean by disconnecting the power? The set shut itself off?
    You can give me the code anyway maybe I feel lucky...;)
     
  9. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    Used to be VM - Level in the service menu on my FQ75, set to 0 to disable... Movie mode disables it but from memory you lose other picture controls...
     
  10. scooby do

    scooby do
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,984
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +83
    If you have the service menu look for the wire between the gun and the SVM board, just remove this and it will be permanantly disabled
     
  11. aliasnow

    aliasnow
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    There's no VM-Level in service menu of FX68.
    Another strange thing, LS60 has a sub-menu called DYN_CONV
    that's Dynamic Convergence that you know FX68 hasn't.
    The only way to calibrate convergence on this set is
    the phisical adjustment with H-V STAT and other rings.

    LS60 owners can you confirm you have DYN_CONV menu?
    If so, LS60 and FX68 are not the same set.

    However, I have one TT-- for enabling and another for disabling SVM, I meant you can unplug power and the settings remains as is, not just 2 secs. I can PM you, nd4spd, and if it works wow!
    If not, well, there are few settings disables the set, in the past I tried all TTs and always I was able to go back, I dunno.
     
  12. nd4spd

    nd4spd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, you can PM me aliasnow. We may need to share other things too...
     
  13. aliasnow

    aliasnow
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    SVM OFF PROJECT:

    Well, from this point we leave this forum FOR THIS THREAD ONLY as we started an experiment-conversation on a private room. If some expert-brave power user or technician/engineer is interested can contact me VIA PM. NO NEWBIE please!
    Thank you.
     

Share This Page

Loading...