1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fussy Text when running PC

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Deanooo, Jul 26, 2005.

  1. Deanooo

    Deanooo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    I have connected my Panny 42PE30B upto my PC via the 15pin connection on the front, all goes well but the text is very fuzzy??

    Is it the graphic card or some settings I can play with??

    If it is the Card could anyone recommend one they us as I really want to utilise the Screen for PC use??

    Thanks alot in advance
     
  2. jblandford

    jblandford
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +1
    You need to drive the display in its native resolution. :thumbsup:
     
  3. benwong

    benwong
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Due to the nature of the connection you're using, text on such a large screen with always have a certain fuzzyness to it.

    If the screen has a DVI input port, use that instead.

    Ben
     
  4. Deanooo

    Deanooo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    cheers for the advice.

    would you call text that is eligable from 5 foot fuzzy?? As this is the case I have to be very close to the screen to read it??
     
  5. vileda

    vileda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +1
    what resolution are you currently running at? It may be wise to increase the text size for web-browsing etc if you have trouble reading it at less than 10'
     
  6. Deanooo

    Deanooo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have tried to run it at various different resolutions

    1280x1024
    1280x768
    1024x768

    Obviously the text becomes more legible the lower the resolution but the text is still fuzzy and not as clear as it is on my monitor.

    Would a higher spec card help this or would I be wasting my money, I currently run a Nvidia Geforce FX5200 128Mg??
     
  7. codlord

    codlord
    Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    The problem is not the graphics card but the resolution of the plasma. I think your plasma has a native res of 852x480 which means any higher and you will lose some detail. A lot of modern graphics cards/drivers have the native res as a res option so this is your best bet for super-clear graphics. However, as you probably know this is not actually much use for a lot of applications/web browsing - just not enough screen space.

    Depends what you intend to do with it - personally I use native res most of the time as I just use it as an mp3 jukebox and that res is fine for running winamp/visulisations etc. If I want to web browse I switch to 1024x768. I don't really use the PC on the pasma for anything else. Some (nvidia at least) drivers allow automatic res switching, so when you run a certain application you can have the res change automatically etc.

    Assuming you are running windows you can tweak font size and appearance settings so that text is more readable.
     
  8. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    I thought your panel was HD, if it is SD then it is the same as my PW7.... try 1024 x 576 (DVI) or 1280 x 720 (VGA). If you are playing back PAL material use 50hz refresh, for NTSC use 60hz refresh.

    Then in XP go into display properties - appearance and enable extra large font types, under effects use clear type fonts, and you can experiment with some other settings in there.

    It also worth getting the DVE disc, or another calibration tool and running that from your PC as settings on the panel can make a lot of difference to how clear the PC output looks.

    lisa
     
  9. leeboy22001

    leeboy22001
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,020
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +43
    don't forget to change display in panny menu to WVGA would be VGA by default, this will improve picture when feeding a widscreen input into it from PC.
     
  10. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    Is this on viera's or PW7's too?
     
  11. Serpico

    Serpico
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2002
    Messages:
    339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hull
    Ratings:
    +7
    In Windows:

    Right click on a blank area of the Desktop and choose [Properties]
    Click on the Appearance Tab; Click Effects
    Check the box: Use the following method to smooth edges of screen fonts
    In the drop down box select: Clear Type

    That should improve things.
     
  12. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    I just said that!
     
  13. Serpico

    Serpico
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2002
    Messages:
    339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hull
    Ratings:
    +7
    Would a mod please move my post above Lisa's so I look less like an arse?

    Thanks in advance. :lease:
     
  14. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    :rotfl: no - leave it in!
     

Share This Page

Loading...