• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Full new system - lots of questions!

Standard Member
Hi, im new to the whole Home theatre/hifi hobby.

However i am very interested in it and have been searching the net for along time looking for research.

Currently my system for music in my room :-

20" iMac (connected via Monster 3.5mm to phono) (also have the abilty for fibre optic)
JVC HiFi MX-MD70R - classic old style i found in the loft
Custom Edwardus speakers x2 - floorstanding 3 speakers in each 10" woofer (hand me downs)

My current set up is ok, but id like to have something thats made for the job.

So, Im looking for a decent set of floorstanding speakers, preferable all in one (bass and treble). I have been looking at Cerwin Vega speakers.

In terms of whats to power the speakers i have no idea!

I have seen a denon A/V with 9 phone inputs, 4 digital and 7.1 speakers out puts.

I would like something like this as so i can always add more speakers to a channel if i want to in the future.

I want a setup that has plently of bass. Which is the reason i chose cerwin vega. (also i have looked on youtube at the tests!)

If you think there are better out there for bass, please tell me.
the reason i want bass, is because the music i listen to is pretty much all bass.
Hardstyle, Hardcore, Dubstep, and occasionaly heavy metal.

I currently dont have a budget as i will be getting every thing bit by bit.

If you have any recommendations please tell me.

As for Watts, Volts and ohms? I havnt a clue. So please be gentle to a newb.

If youd like a picture of my set up then please ask :)

Another few questions, is it possible to use a car subwoofer inline with a home set up? the only benefit i can see is that they are cheaper..

Is there any downside?