1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fuji camera help please!!

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by CatManDo, Aug 27, 2004.

  1. CatManDo

    CatManDo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,754
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    South Yorks
    Ratings:
    +242
    Hi guys,

    I had a Fuji 2600 Zoom for a number of years and was very happy with the quality of prints etc. I recently decided to upgrade, wanting something a little smaller and not so battery hungry, so I plumped for the Finepix 410.

    The look and feel of the camera is great but I am disappointed with the quality of prints. I have tried all 4 different quality settings to no avail, the pictures nearly always come out grainy. The Finepix 410 is supposed to be a 3.1 million mega-pixel camera, whereas the 2600 was only a 2.0 million mega-pixel model, so surely I should be getting just as good if not better results with the 410.

    Is it possible I am doing something wrong or even that I have a defective camera?

    Any helps / thoughts would be gratefully appreciated.

    TIA
     
  2. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    33,100
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,362
    Have you read any review on the 410; could it be anything to do with the lenses quality?
     
  3. RobertP

    RobertP
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    522
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Woodford Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    I don't know your camera but you could compare your photos to those on a review site. Such as here .They have unedited versions for download.
    At least then you know if is doing what it should.
    My last camera change was from 2.1 to 5 MP - and the change in picture quality was a lot less than I expected - both were pretty good on the same subject. The new one seemed 'grainy' at first - it has a setting for sharpening and it was too high by default. Yours is unlikely to have such a setting but it might be worth a look.
     
  4. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
    well MP has lil to do with picture quaility and more to do with print size. You can get really awfull 5mp cams and great 2 mp cams
     
  5. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    33,100
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,362
    If the lens quality is no good saving at a higher res is a waste of time. It is better to have a 2 meg camera with a good lens than a 3 meg with a bad lens as you are saving high res rubish.

    PS Sean I’m agreeing with you.
     
  6. matiano

    matiano
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is the ISO setting on auto, when u say grainy do u mean in a sort of underexposed sort of way? Might be worth checking the ISO and making sure its flashing when required. I have seen prints off the 410 and never noticed any grainyness, I have only seen a few images however.
     
  7. CatManDo

    CatManDo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,754
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    South Yorks
    Ratings:
    +242
    Thanks for your replies guys.

    I believe the ISO is set to 200.

    The pics just seem grainy in a low res sort of way.....shall I send you a sample?

    TIA
     
  8. HardBoiledEgg

    HardBoiledEgg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Post an attachement so we can see what you mean :) Are you sure you have it set on the best resolution? Even at 1 or 2mp the pic shouldnt look as grainy as you say

    Nicky
     
  9. matiano

    matiano
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah seeing a pic would help, where are you having them printed? ISO 200 shouldnt produce grainyness in most conditions so maybe its the resolution as previously suspected.
     
  10. dolph

    dolph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +26
    ISO 200 on a small sensor will probably be quite grainy - take as many of your photos as possible at ISO 50.
     
  11. CatManDo

    CatManDo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,754
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    South Yorks
    Ratings:
    +242
    The camera only has 200, 400 or 800 iso settings.

    I am not printing the pics, just viewing them on a pc....take a look at this one, this was taken on the second to best setting...........
     
  12. CatManDo

    CatManDo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,754
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    South Yorks
    Ratings:
    +242
    damn....it won't let me attach the file, its saying its too big....let me try and reduce it......
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

Loading...