1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fuel Crusher/Rasczak DMR-E50 Recording Settings

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by sdm197, Apr 28, 2003.

1. sdm197

sdm197

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +13
    I have read the other long thread regarding this topic and i'm now thoroughly confused

Like many here I'm new to dvd recording , I only acquired my DMR-E50 Recently, and I bow to the superior knowledge of the forum members, but can we just try to clear up for me this question. What are the best settings/or best compromise for recording the following?

1/S-VHS
    2/VHS
    3/Laserdisc
    4/Off air broadcast

Automatic or fixed Hybrid VBR?

FR or not?:confused:

Sorry guys but I need your help on this one, with your own findings, or experiments, I would be glad to hear from any of the forum members own settings for recording the above sources.

2. Fuel Crusher

Fuel Crusher
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    My opinion:
    If you're archiving then use Flexible Recording (FR) purely so that you use all available disc space and hence get the best quality for that length of video. The amount of video you are prepared to put on a disc will be personal preference due to everyone's quality standards will be different, just be aware that over 2hrs 20mins 'ISH' the resolution will drop to LP res rather than XP/SP.
    You've listed 4 input standards but again it will depend on your own quality requirements and subject you're archiving, eg you'd probably want to keep more quality if archiving home video of young kids rather than a few episodes of stargate.

"Automatic or fixed Hybrid VBR?"