1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Frustrated Plasma Owner

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by forrestgump, Jun 11, 2005.

  1. forrestgump

    forrestgump
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    1,424
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    huddersfield
    Ratings:
    +49
    Had my Hitachi PM400E over a year now, nothing wrong with it apart from the obvious, no HDMi or DVi input. Question is, will a scaler for about a grand improve the picture remarkably? Or would I be better selling it and buying the new Hitachi model which can be bought for less than I paid for mine?

    Will a scaler allow HD material to be shown via the component input on my plasma?

    Is DVI or HDMI that much better than component? WILL not be using SKY even when they go hi=def, think they are a load of to...ers, would be using the screen for Hi Def DVD and HDV DVD
     
  2. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    I think you will find "HD" dvd will require DVI/HDMI with HDCP
    Skys service has been said will also require a HDCP display,
    so the best bet would be to stick your money towards getting an up to date display that has HDMI HDCP.
     
  3. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    But since you've got a plasma you're happy with already I would wait to see what offerings pan out from the various manufacturers as they come out with more HD Ready screens. Panny 8 series, new Pioneers etc. Never know, the price may fall too!!!
     
  4. 2towers

    2towers
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    There may be limitation of a scaler on the component. My DVD player which has a scaler inside says that it can only support up to 576p on component as compared to 720p & 1080i on HDMI. Other more expensive analogue scaler may be better on component but to dump money in a dying analogue scaler is not worth. My mid-priced DVD palyer gives crisp & sharp pictures at 720p via a HDMI which I 've never got such from component.

    If I were you I'll definitely sell the old & buy a new HDMI stuff with a scaler DVD or standalone scaler.
     
  5. HeweyBoy101

    HeweyBoy101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    866
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Lancing, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +65
    Or ...... buy a "box" for a couple of hundred quid to effectively remove HDCP from a DVI-D source and output via VGA (RGBHV) or component. I am trying this route currently with my Denon 3910, so that I can access the upscaled 1080i output on my (non HD) Philips Plasma. Worth a try I think. If it doesn't work I have 7 days to return it (www.lektropacks.co.uk)

    I'm hoping the results will be good enough to keep me happy for a couple of years (still seething that I spent £2k on a Plasma just 6 months before they reinvented the wheel and decided everything had to be digital and copy protected !).
     
  6. mouseboy

    mouseboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey HeweyBoy101,

    How did you get on with your HDCP removal unit?
    I'm wondering if that's the sort of thing i'm going to need. I have a Panny PW7, and i'm trying to get my head around what i'll nead to view HD content. Does the box you got act as a scalar too, and is that even a requirement?!
    I'm trying to plan for an XBOX2 SKY+HD and a HD DVD player. Obviously I could get a new Plasma, but i'd like to know the options for watching HD content using my existing setup - especially HDCP encrypted content!

    Thanks!

    Andy
     
  7. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,785
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +667
    Is this the device you are getting?

    http://www.lektropacks.com/view_item.php?product=37&&category=12

    It doesn't just transcode the dvi to rgbhv, it seems to output whatever resolution you set, not good for a device costing £230!

    Input Resolutions:

    PC (RGBHV) HDTV (YCbCr, YPbPr, RGBHV)
    VGA
    640x480
    60/72/75/85 Hz
    1080i
    1920x1080
    60 Hz

    VESA85
    640x400
    85 Hz
    720p
    1280x720
    60Hz

    VGA70
    720x400
    70 Hz
    576p
    720x576
    50Hz

    SVGA
    800x600
    60/72/75/85 Hz
    480p
    720x480
    60 Hz

    XGA
    1024x768
    60/70/75/85 Hz
    576i
    720x576
    50 Hz

    Mac
    1152x864
    70/75 Hz
    480i
    720x480
    60 Hz

    WXGA
    1280x768
    60 Hz




    1280A
    1280x960
    60 Hz




    SXGA
    1280x1024
    60Hz



    Output Resolutions:

    PC (RGBHV) HDTV (YCbCr, YPbPr, RGBHV)
    VGA
    640x480
    60/72/75/85 Hz
    1080i
    1920x1080
    60 Hz

    VESA85
    640x400
    85 Hz
    720p
    1280x720
    60Hz

    VGA70
    720x400
    70 Hz
    576p
    720x576
    50Hz

    SVGA
    800x600
    60/72/75/85 Hz
    480p
    720x480
    60 Hz

    XGA
    1024x768
    60/70/75/85 Hz




    Mac
    1152x864
    70/75 Hz




    WXGA
    1280x768
    60 Hz




    1280A
    1280x960
    60 Hz




    SXGA
    1280x1024
    60 Hz


    Distinct lack of 50Hz on needed reolutions too!

    the digital connections device is far better.
     
  8. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    You're going to need something that converts HDCP DVI/HDMI into analogue component video. Although initially Sky HD will use component connections anyway so you're not too badly done. Nothing to worry about for the next couple years or so anyway
     

Share This Page

Loading...