1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Front or surrond speaker cables

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by doncorleone, Apr 27, 2003.

1. doncorleone

doncorleone

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi im thinking of buying better quality cables but to get cables for all 5 speakers will be really pricey (espeically as im a poor student!) so what do you think is more important to get? Good cables for the left right and center, so like 3 speakers all about 2 meters of wire, or the surrond speakers which are prob more like 10 meters away each.

Cheers

Also does it matter if some speakers have new cables and some dont? Does it make it sound stupid?

:smashin:

2. Ian J

Ian J
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    I have Silver Anniversary cable for the front three and much cheaper cable for the rears. I bought the Ixos flat stuff that runs under the carpet.

3. doncorleone

doncorleone

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    whats the quality like? Is there a noticable difference and do you notice that the surrounds are cheaper?

4. menalaus

menalaus

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    i would definately go with with upgradeing the fronts now as thats where most of the action happens. Worry about the surrounds later if the difference starts bugging you. I keep my surrounds fairly low in the mix anyway, as i dont like them to take over, so i dont notice any discrepency. Even for midrange components, IMHO, theres no point paying silly money on cables, £5 p/m dose the job nicely. In a budget set up £2p/m (again IMO) as the saying goes 'you cant polish a turd' so save your money for some bigger toys.

5. doncorleone

doncorleone

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0