Front and back porch, etc

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by tryingtimes, Aug 8, 2006.

1. tryingtimes

tryingtimes

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +531
    Hi there
    A newbie question this, especially for a crt owner, but....

What role do Front and Back porches have in modern preogressive displays? And why do we use them in our VPs when it uses valuable pixel clock bandwidth?
    1080x1920x75 = 155MHz
    But once you add in all the Porches etc, you get way over the limit of most VPs and maybe even cables and other peripherals.

As I said - complete newbie question, so apologies.

Oh and I know that 75Hz isn't as necessary with progressive displays but it could be again with some of the new display technologies which draw the image line by line.

Cheers
    tt

2. JohnWH

JohnWH

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +82
    Good question!

I may be wrong here, but I think its so that non fixed pixel displays could be driven directly by DAC's without a frame store, making it hystorical?

You also wouldn't have anywhere to hide audio without them.

John.

3. Welwynnick

Welwynnick

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +942
    Front and back porches are very necessary with scanning displays, so there is sufficient time for the line retrace, and the new scan can be stablised in time to display the line linearly.

Fixed pixel displays don't need these dead times, but the analogue interfaces have to be consistent with established standards that support CRT displays.

Digital interfaces are a different matter entirely, and porches and sync pulses are handled in a different way entirely. There are still frame and line sync periods, but these are signalled digitally rather than analogue.

I don't believe that audio comes into it; that's multiplexed at a different level.

Nick

4. JohnWH

JohnWH

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +82