1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

From Radeon VE to 8500 improvement in quality?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Stuart Wright, Oct 7, 2002.

  1. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,821
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,558
    I have a HCPC working just fine with a Radeon VE card and I find myself with a spare Sapphire 8500LE card after an upgrade in my main PC.
    Would any of you happen to know if replacing the VE with the 8500 would produce any improvement in picture quality with the Theatretek player?
    Thanks
     
  2. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,053
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,130
    Unsure. I have a VE also and seem to recall there being some discussion with regard to the inclusion of 10bit dacs on the output side of the VE as opposed to 8bit. The advantage being you get a bit more headroom (you wont clip) if you are doing hardware gamma corrections via the overlay. TT looks great on mine.

    If the VE has 10bit dacs I'd say its unlikely to make a difference to your pic quality going to the 8500

    I do a fairly hefty gamma correction on mine and it seems fine also you don't have to worry about an extra fan with the VE.
     
  3. jrwood

    jrwood
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    All ATI cards have 10bit dacs, what you may notice and others might not is that the 8500 should give a slightly crisper image, especially at higher resolutions thanks to its better/faster RAMDAC.

    /James
     
  4. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,053
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,130
    Is that really going to make a difference to the overlay though???
     
  5. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    From my experience with various Radeon cards I would say yes. The 8500 is certainly better than the Radeon 64 DDR and the Radeon 7200 (both of which are supposed to be better than the VE/7000).
     
  6. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,053
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,130
    Not on an ae100 though eh ?
    ;)
     
  7. Couch Potato

    Couch Potato
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Spectre,

    Why not try out your 9700 in your HCPC, you might not look back ;)

    If you do, let us know the difference.

    Steve
     
  8. Jenz

    Jenz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Personally when I slapped a 8500 in instead of a VE there wasn't much. But there was when I put a 9000 in.

    I am currently awaiting the 9000 with filter mods ;)

    Neil.
     
  9. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +29
    Neil
    have u sent the 9000 off to Mark in Hull to be modified ? wot are the differences between your old Ve and the 9000 ?
    cheers

    richard
     
  10. Couch Potato

    Couch Potato
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Neil?

    Also why the 9000 rather than the 9700?

    Steve
     
  11. Jenz

    Jenz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well the 9000 over the 9700 because this is a HTPC not a games rig - oh and £40 versus £275 :devil:

    The differences were slightly cleaner, crisper image (using TT) and personally felt there were colour improvements slightly and better black. Didn't feel there was any white level benefits.

    Mark hasn't modded it yet because I haven't sent it yet.

    Neil.
     
  12. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +29
    Just out of interest Neil, wot driver are u using?

    cheers

    rich
     
  13. Mark Grant

    Mark Grant
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2000
    Messages:
    1,357
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    East Yorkshire, England
    Ratings:
    +171
    Hello Jenz,

    £40 for a radeon 9000. Bargain :)

    Any chance of a link?

    I guess at www.newegg.com ?

    (that's where my bargain 'LE' cards came from ages ago)

    Thanks,

    Mark.
     
  14. Couch Potato

    Couch Potato
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's what I was thinking :)

    Steve
     
  15. Jenz

    Jenz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK I lied, its now £49 at ebuyer.com

    Sapphire 9000 No-DVI 64Mb. The pic is not the actual card which does not have a fan, it has a heatsink.

    I then also got the £55 DVI card also.

    I use the catalyst 2.3 drivers.

    I use TT in software mode when I use it, although I mainly use my Holo3D and Arcam DV27 now.

    Neil.
     
  16. Mark Grant

    Mark Grant
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2000
    Messages:
    1,357
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    East Yorkshire, England
    Ratings:
    +171
    Think I will buy the 128 MB 9000 DVI retail for £71.56 inc vat.

    or maybe the 64 MB 9000 DVI retail for £65.58

    In stock at the moment as well :)

    Hopefully Theatertek 1.5 should work well with the latest catalyst drivers and a radeon 9000 / 9700, when they release it.

    Mark
     
  17. squishysdomain

    squishysdomain
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry I'm new here - what are these filter mods that have been mentioned on this thread, and does anyone have any experience of the quality of the Sapphire Radeon 9000 card with VI/VO? I want to get my skybox and video recorder output into the HCPC and out onto my LCD projector??
     

Share This Page

Loading...