1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

From BT to O2 - or not ?

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones Forum' started by satchmo, Jun 8, 2005.

  1. satchmo

    satchmo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all - just a quickie to put to you. I'm currently on BT mobile (don't ask how or why, its a long story!) but iI'm getting a bit fed up with it and I've heard that O2 have a new tariff out ('talkalot' or something). A friend tried to explain it to me but it was a bit confusing. Has anyone else heard about it?

    Cheers - satchmo
     
  2. rash.m2k

    rash.m2k
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    BT and O2 are the same company I'm pretty sure!!!!!!!!!!
     
  3. rash.m2k

    rash.m2k
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    talk lot is pretty good, basically top up for £10 every month and get 300 free message
     
  4. gobblit

    gobblit
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    O2 used to be BTcellnet. BT Mobile is BT newer mobile effort running of T-Mobile
     
  5. satchmo

    satchmo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow - that is confusing ! Joking apart, thanks for the info chaps. The 'talk a lot more' tariff does sound good value so I think I will go for it - when it comes out!

    Cheers - satchmo
     
  6. ad47uk

    ad47uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    749
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6

    Nope, O2 was formed when BT sold of their moble phone section.
    BT now sell mobile phones, but use another network.
    I think they are now using Vodaphone.
     
  7. the_sanguine

    the_sanguine
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +7
    true..... 02 was floated off from BT as a separate company. The irony was that BT kept the debt from the 3G license. They are now a virtual operator (like Tesco and Virgin). They do indeed use the vodaphone network
     
  8. ad47uk

    ad47uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    749
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I think Vodafone network is one of the better ones in this country signal wise. It is just a shame that Vodafone customer service is so naff. I was with vodafone for a couple of years, since I had my first mobile phone, but after the way they treated me, I went to BTcellnet, and stayed with them, ok so the company is now O2. ButI would not even have anything to do with BT now, because their customer service is as bad as vodofone.

    Which is why I am staying with O2, it is a shame their network is not a little better.
     
  9. betamax

    betamax
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Talkalotmore = top up by £15 (as often or infrequently as you like) and they give you 150 off peak free minutes. Even better if you register via their website.
     
  10. MartinH32

    MartinH32
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,724
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Castleford
    Ratings:
    +298
    Hi all,

    I used to be on BT mobile for my own phone and voda for my work. In my house, the BT mobile had no reception and voda full. When I looked into it, BT mobile use the t mobile network.
     
  11. yaserk99

    yaserk99
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    BT uses a t-mobile server and the reception and customer services is appaling. terrible network alot worse than three network:devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:
     
  12. wallisj

    wallisj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    244
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +11
    I got a BT-Mobile sim card from my company, when i put it in the phone i get O2-UK...the voicemail system is O2's .... hence i'm thinking its o2
     
  13. ramseyculdesac

    ramseyculdesac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ive been with O2 for a little while and have had no problems since. in fact they seem to have a lot of nice little extras n features such as having a site where you can win loads of stuff and download things for free, etc...

    they have so far worked really well for me. this is that freebie site by the way::

    http://www.o2.co.uk/blueroom
     
  14. GBrent

    GBrent
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been there, was definately up for getting tickets to the wireless festival, Moby's playing on the friday.
     
  15. GBrent

    GBrent
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  16. ramseyculdesac

    ramseyculdesac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    no luck for me so far. hopefully get some for sunday. wouldnt mind seeing kasabian.
     

Share This Page

Loading...