French and English televison in France

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by PdeG, Feb 2, 2009.

Tags:
  1. PdeG

PdeG
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hello.

I am not just new to this Forum, I am new to digital television, satellite dishes, the whole works, so please forgive my ignorance.

Worse, my problem seem to fit into different forums but perhaps some kind moderator will redirect me if have still become misplaced...
    1. I live in France.

2. I have just bought an HD television (Samsung Le32A466, if that means anything)which is TNT compatible.

3. I wish to receive basic French freeview broacasts (they call it TNT).

4. I also wish to receive basic freeview UK broadcasts.

5. I don't wish to pay any subscriprtions, thank you.

6. I do not need to record one program while watching another and I do not need two televisions.

7. I am proposing to buy a Humax Foxsat box for the UK bit.
    8. I had proposed to buy a 2nd Foxsat for the French broadcasts, but have now been told that I can only use a TNT box with a viewing card, even though it is not a subscription arrangement.

9. I understand that UK freesat/freeview comess off the Astra 2 satellite.

10. I have been told that the French (TNT) comes off Astra 1 AND off Hotbird. Presumably they can't both be correct.

11. I have been told that I must have 2 dishes each pointing at the respective satellites.

12. I have also been told that I only need one dish if it has something called a monoblock LNB which can point at 2 satellites at the same time. A single dish would be preferable for aesthetic reasons.

13. Presumably if I can get away with only one dish, it would still require 2 cable runs, one to each box.