Freezing on channels every five seconds

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by OurJud, Jul 31, 2012.

  1. OurJud

    OurJud
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Developed an odd glitch since yesterday. I have one of the newer Sky+ HD boxes after I had an engineer come out to fix a separate issue a few weeks ago. I know it's one of the newer ones because I'm the only one in my family with the new-look planner. Anyway, yesterday all the Sky channels started to freeze up every five seconds or so. Then they'd unfreeze, play for another five seconds and freeze up again. This would just repeat continuously. freeze, unfreeze, freeze, unfreeze.

    The free-to-air channels are fine.

    It's the only box in the house and I do not share with anyone.

    I've done a reboot which seems to have resolved the issue for now, but I suspect it will return.

    Is this a known fault and are there any permanent fixes? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,778
    It's not known, in the sense that it's the first time it's been reported here.
    Machines do go wrong though, and so can Sky subscription cards, so it's up to them to fix the problem.
     
  3. OurJud

    OurJud
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks, logicel. I will get on to them if the problem returns, just wondered if others had experienced it and had any answers.
     
  4. Stevenage Neil

    Stevenage Neil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +897
    If it is only Sky channels then, as Logi suggested, it sounds like a card problem. Try removing it, cleaning the contacts with a dry cloth, and re-inserting it.
     
  5. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,778
    That's OK, and we do get a variety of problems but this one hasn't come up before. It does sound like the card.
     
  6. OurJud

    OurJud
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks very much to you both. Still okay after the reboot this morning, although I have been out all day and only just got back.

    Anyway, I shall try the card cleaning if it returns, and if that doesn't fix it, contact Sky - it is a very very old card now.

    Thanks again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...