1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

freeview

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by autel, Jun 17, 2005.

  1. autel

    autel
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    94
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +1
    Can anyone tell me as to when you get a freeview tv or a separate box, then are you suppose to get the normal freeview channels or some extra channels on top,as i've heard from a few to say that they are receiving a few extra channels in addition to the normal freeview stations.Has this anything to do with the aerial/location?
     
  2. Battle

    Battle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +894
    theres an extra add on package that you can buy to get some extra channels but quite frankly now that E4 is on freeview there aint any worthwhile channels on the extra package.
     
  3. Geofbob

    Geofbob
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +304
    See http://www.topuptv.com/ Whether you think the 10 extra channels for £7.99 a month is worth it is really a matter of taste. Personally, I don't, and I like the idea of having all the normal Freeview channels for just the one-off cost of the box.
     
  4. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,380
    I think a separate Freeview box is better than a FV TV. If the FV tuner is in the TV then it makes life more difficault to record a digital channel. Also a lot more expensive to upgrade if something new comes along that the TV can't handle, like Top Up TV for example.

    Mark.
     
  5. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Well you get a PVR as well - and if I ever sunk to get tutv I could use my old Ondodgy CAM in my TV yet I could not record it as it is unsupported by the Twin
     
  6. Richard46

    Richard46
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2000
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London E7 UK
    Ratings:
    +120
    These are the Freeview Channels. Unless you subscribe to TUTV that is what you will get AFAIK. I have never heard of anyone getting any extra channels as a result of their aerial location.

    Richard
     
  7. NX3

    NX3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +332
    With my aerial in a "different location" I can pick up the signal from wales not just my local transmitter. So I got most channels duplicated and S4C and S4C2 as extras....
     
  8. Richard46

    Richard46
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2000
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London E7 UK
    Ratings:
    +120
    Well thats something I did not know before.

    Richard
     
  9. autel

    autel
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    94
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes that was my main question,because i have heard from a couple of friends regarding freeview boxes,that they are receiving a few extra channels on top of the normal 30 or so listed & that that they were not talking tutv,or subscription neither,probably just a better location!
     
  10. ash

    ash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,036
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +383
    Are they in Ireland, there they recieve RTE etc I think, the panapv500 Has a cam slot for tutv.
     
  11. autel

    autel
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    94
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +1
    No they are in the uk, not in Ireland
     

Share This Page

Loading...