1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Freeview... ???

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by Xstyle, Dec 13, 2004.

  1. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143
    Apart from the freeview box, do u need anything else to watch it?
    i.e.
    Do u need an aerial to get freeview?


    if so ...how does Freeview work on the Pio 435XDE ...as that gets it through its Media Box?


    Confused :confused:
     
  2. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    You need a reasonably good aerial to watch Freeview, and some aerials that work OK for ordinary TV won't necessarily work with a Freeview box. The box connects to the TV with a video connector like a scart, the same as DVD's and VCR's.
     
  3. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,752
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    Terrestrial Freeview is broadcast from the same transmitters as regular TV using UHF frequencies just like regular TV. Each UHF frequency is used for one "mux" which contains several digital channels. There are 6 muxes.

    You therefore need a UHF aerial, and a digital tuner (either inside your TV or separately) to receive terrestrial Freeview.

    I say "terrestrial" because many (or all?) freeview channels are also broadcast from satellite and can be picked up by $ky receivers.
     
  4. JayX

    JayX
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    29
    Location:
    c-town
    Ratings:
    +30
    just curious, but how else did you think it would work?
     
  5. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143
    I thought it was in-built into the Freeview box...
     

Share This Page

Loading...