Freeview

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by mobily, Dec 30, 2003.

  1. mobily

    mobily
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Ratings:
    +2
    I am in the market for a freeview set top box and was wondering if anyone could tell me what the difference are between the different boxes. After reading the latest issue of what hi fi magazine the prices of set top boxes range from about 50 quid to 150 quid so there must be quite a large difference between them. :confused:

    Any help is greatly appreciated,

    James :D
     
  2. PhilipVass

    PhilipVass
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Like most other electrical products the well known names tend to be the most expensive of the lot.

    The number of scarts can affect the price of the unit it all depends on what exactly you are looking for but generally a cheap £50 box is just as good as a £150 box.

    Personaly i would reccomednd getting the Pioneer or the Sony priced around £80 - £100 as they are the fastest on text.
     
  3. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Good boxes

    Pace Twin - fantastic

    Pace FTV
    Pioneer
    Sony

    All good general ones

    NEtgem??

    Component out for Plasmas
     
  4. PhilipVass

    PhilipVass
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Pace Twin has a hard disc which some people don't like and it is full of bugs. I would avoid this one ;)
     
  5. supersonic87

    supersonic87
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    286
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Swansea, Wales
    Ratings:
    +2
    If you need a basic freeview box consider these:

    Setpals
    Pace FTVA
    Pioneer (can't remember model number)
    Sony VTX800
    Netgem I-player (not exactly a basic box I know)

    If you want a HDD recorder, the only one available at the moment is the pace twin, which IMO is an excellent box (very few bugs which should be solved by the end of january), but you could wait a bit longer for a humax box (single tuner only), or a fusion box (twin tuner with or without DVD recording, and an unofficial 7-day epg)

    The price differences are varied due to varies reasons, including the tuner, outputs and name (Sony)

    Rich
     
  6. transwest

    transwest
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Messages:
    328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +6
    I've had a PACE box since day one. Their 'back-up' services leaves a bit to be desired. I've never had it running right,,, so have only used it for about 6 months. Now the PSU has packed up,,,, & they want me to 'buy' another one !
    (it dosn't matter about brand names or quality,,, we all need decent back-up whatever we buy - seems to be lacking across the board nowdays !!)
    I only want a 'basic' DigiBox & am now looking into the Grundig 1500 box, as it has good connectivity,,, AND RF loop-through (to watch anolog whilst recording digital)
    Too cheap ??? maybe,,, i'll let you all know my oopinion when I get one.

    Thanks to all helpers & a

    Happy New Year To You All


    Transwest
     
  7. Oxfordman

    Oxfordman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Humax F2-Fox T. Excellent all-round. Fast, two scarts, digital audio output as well as analogue, channel number display, RF loopthrough, metal case, nice remote able to control most TVs, scart lead included, 2 years warranty. Not bad for £83(from dabs.com). Pity high streets shops don't seem to stock it.

    Happy New Year
     
  8. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    I have a Pace Twin and it is an excellent piece of kit - well recommended and I could not do without it now.

    I even take it on holiday as it has RF out and my old portable TV doesn't have Scart - great for news24
     
  9. PhilipVass

    PhilipVass
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, i own one of these and they are certainly 'basic' they use thomson software, the menus are plain blue and easy to navigate not a bad receiver for £50.
     
  10. mobily

    mobily
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hello all,

    Thankyou for all the replies that I have received. Does any of the freeview boxes that have been mentioned above have an RGB scart connection rather than 'ordinary' scart? I would ask if they had component but I think a television with component input is well beyond my price range. Why don't they cut out some of the fancy dan features on tv's and create component for the majority of them providing a cleaner picture for all?

    p.s. what is RF?

    Thanks once again to everyone,

    James
     
  11. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Scart is RGB normally but a few cheapies don't do it!

    If you are stuck on budget lok at the new cheapy Pace as it is based on the DTVA which is pretty good.

    RF is aerial out to an old TV
     
  12. Fernsehman

    Fernsehman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Pace give a 12 month guarantee on all their products. If you don't have the original receipt (oops) just tell them the serial number and the date of purchase.

    The choice of Freeview receiver shouldn't be based simply on price. You should look very carefully on your requirements.

    Do you live in a very weak signal area? If so you'll be better off with a "Setpal" tuner unit.

    Do you live in a strong signal area? If so you DON'T want a setpal tuner, otherwise you'll end up buying an attenuator.

    Do you require an integral RF modulator so you can pipe the Freeview pictures to another room? (But if you want stereo sound in the other room you'll need a pair of phono cables).

    Do you need a large remote control? (Some arthritic hands do).

    Do you want a simple menu system?

    Do you want a square box or something that looks like a flying saucer or a bread bin?

    Do you want two Scart sockets?

    Do you want 12 volt operation (for a caravan)?

    Do you want good reliability?

    and so on.

    P.s. If you need to ask questions like "What is RF" you are not ready to buy a Freeview receiver. Do more reading!
     
  13. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Not many have this my Pace Twin does, the new Sony does, th DTVA replacement does.

    We have 240v electrics now!

    Lad at work has a Grundig - keeps crashing
     
  14. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    922
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    The Philps 1500 offers choice of outputs on each of the 2 scarts and digital audio.
    Packard Bell offers choice of input = output on scarts but no digital audio.
     
  15. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,556
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,884
    What's the best way to find out the kind of reception for your area ? I put my post code into the on-line thingy and it said that I might not be able to get Freeview. Thanks very much !
     
  16. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    Your best bet is to find someone local who has Freeview or try a local ariel installer, they should know.
    Its not unusual for the postcode thingy to say little or no reception, but with a good ariel get most if not all stations. I think it errs on the side of caution.

    Mark.
     
  17. browellm

    browellm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +7
    Really, the only true way to find out is to beg, borrow or steal an an adaptor to try. When I first got mine, I did the postcode thing and it said I would more than likely need an aerial upgrade. I just plugged it in and everything worked perfectly. You may be just as lucky, and it could save you unnecessary upgrade costs if you can get hold of one to try first.
     
  18. THOWD FELLA

    THOWD FELLA
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the Pioneer box which is excellent. The reason I went for it is that the t/v scart is rgb AND the vcr scart is S vhs and it is one of the few to do this. Price on line around £85
     
  19. Supernatural

    Supernatural
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Aldershot
    Ratings:
    +5
    The Sagem 602 available for less than £60 also offers RGB through scart 1 and S-Video through scart 2. Also the best signal of any set top box that I have had in my weak signal area -
    Previously tried Sony, Labgear Setpal and Netgem.

    Has issues with RF interference but this can be sorted.

    Paul
     
  20. CJROSS

    CJROSS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2000
    Messages:
    5,072
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +343
    Mobily : there are loads of STBs on the market these days, I would urge you as a minimum to get your hands on one with a digital output for piping the sound towards either a AV Digital Amp, Digital to Analogue convertor (DAC) or a digital recorder (CDR or MD). The ones that spring to mind at the £100 are Nokia 221T (RCA SPDIF), Netgem (Toslink), Pioneer (Toslink), Phillips (Toslink) & Sony (3.5mm minioptic jack). The sound from these units is astonishing as a hifi source IME. Be warned though every STB box has bugs of some sort, from software glitches to ability to function with lowish ariel strength.

    Go for one with a digital output if you can.
     
  21. CJROSS

    CJROSS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2000
    Messages:
    5,072
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +343
  22. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Pace Twin has Optical out and can record the radio channels as well, great for making MD compilations
     
  23. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,342
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,027
    which ones come with svideo outputs? That'd be handy for me to feed to my TV (I don't have RGB in for various reasons)

    Can I have digital out simulatneously with analog out? Sometimes I'd want to watch via the TV, but sometimes on the projector via the amp.
     
  24. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,556
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,884
    I found a local aerial installer who lives a couple of streets away from me and he said that it would be very hit and miss where I lived - he wouldn't advise it as I would need to change the aerial before trying out a Freeview box.
    That just leaves me with Sky - that annoys me that the Government say they will be stopping analogue services in a couple of years, yet they have failed to provide an alternative in my area - unless you go with Sky.
     
  25. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979

    Once analogue is shut down then DTT transmissions can be increased in power and coverage raised to within a few decimal places of the current analogue coverage.
    I would expect the government/regulator to stagger the switch off of analogue channels to provide a basic channel line up as a bridge between full analogue and full digital.
    There is also the fact that in the next 5 years or so the UK digital networks are going to be vastly different to what they are now both in price and performance. DTT/Freeview boxes will be a price point where they could be given away to every household at a price that would be insignificant to the government and dsat is a very viable option if they get the FTV cards issued at cost or included as part of the license fee.
     
  26. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,556
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,884
    Thanks Starburst. It's reassuring to know that coverage will get better.
     
  27. Baz1

    Baz1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    169
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Workingon, Cumbria.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Humax F2-FOX T,
    As good as it gets.
    Thanks,
    Barry. :smashin:
     
  28. peahead

    peahead
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,842
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    St.helens
    Ratings:
    +276
    I just recieved my humax f2-fox-t and its a great box very quick good build quality and all the right connections even s,video. got this box to replace my nokia 221t which is rubbish.
     
  29. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
  30. VirusKiller

    VirusKiller
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hogsty End
    Ratings:
    +70
    Minor correction: the Philips DTR1500 has an electrical coax digital out, not a Toslink optical one.


    Indeed.
     

Share This Page

Loading...