1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Freeview with s-video question

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by GarethL, Jun 23, 2004.

  1. GarethL

    GarethL
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there,

    Can anybody recommend a Freeviw box that can output s-video or component (for input to my Arcam AVR300). I also need it to have a digital out for sound as well. Currently I have an old Pace Ondigital box which can't do either of these things. Any help much appreciated.

    Gareth
     
  2. cliocarl

    cliocarl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    334
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +4
    I bought one of the Netgem iPlayers whilst on offer at Makro, and in the setup list it has the option of component output - which presumably you get through the scart socket on the back with the correct conversion lead.

    It also has optical audio out.

    It can also house a CAM and then a top up tv card i believe. To get E4 and other channels
     
  3. Jules

    Jules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    5,073
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +752
    The Pioneer freeview box is unusual in that it can do S-Video from either of its 2 scart sockets as well as RGB. And it has an RF loop / output.
    It has an optical out too!

    I picked one up at RicherSounds a couple of weeks ago for £69, and I'm very pleased with it.
     
  4. cliocarl

    cliocarl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    334
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thinks the netgem can do that too and it has the RF loop thing

    Plus the menu looks very nice, ooh and you can surf the internet on the tv with the supplied keyboard

    I got mine from makro for 39.99 exc VAT
     
  5. NX3

    NX3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +332
    I'm pretty sure the Sony box does it as well.
     
  6. Digiman

    Digiman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    367
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    Just to clarify... the netgem has only composite out on scart 2 and has no RF output. It has RGB, component, Svideo and composite on scart 1. The sony has RGB, SVideo and composite on Scart 1, only Composite on Scart 2 unless you have a Smartlink compatible VCR when you can get SVideo on scart 2.
     

Share This Page

Loading...