1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Freeview with s-video and toslink

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by MAW, Sep 22, 2003.

  1. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Does such a thing exist? Can anyone save me the time of wading through the specs? Decent s-video for a plasma is the most important, digital optical output would be nice. Don't want a PVR too, just a standard STB.
     
  2. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Don't plasmas require component not S-vid?

    NEtgem IPlayer

    For S-Vid if your plasma is that restricted Pace Twin or Pace DTVA

    As to PVR don't you ever record anything?
     
  3. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Martin,

    It's not for me, he needs s-vid cos it's all his amp will switch, yes YUV would be better, but s video's not bad, its actually a cut down version of component. As to recording, does the pace have optical out, and how are the problems going? He's thinking of an s-vhs player, it's a panasonic, so no composite input for VHS as he's already using s-vid, and he has many tapes. So a bit stuck really.
     
  4. andy572

    andy572
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    361
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oop North
    Ratings:
    +2
    The netgem is you man... er, box! :laugh:

    It'll output composite, s-video, RGB or component and includes an optical output. :lesson:

    I believe the Nokia 221T is a suitable alternative. It does include optical out; but I can't confirm s-video. I'm reading through Nokia's PDF, as I type...
     
  5. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    221 does only rgb or composite, and has coax out but no optical, I've got one.
     
  6. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,354
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +144
    No, you want the new Philips 1500.

    It is the only freeview stb that offers RGB AND S-Video on seperate SCARTS (VERY useful). Excluding the Pace Twin.
     
  7. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Optical out too? Though I quite fancy the netgem, I'd buy one myself possibly as well. Love a pace twin but my wife, whilst tolerant, even keen, on my technology habit, gets very imatient with things that don't work.
     
  8. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    My Twin has been very well behaved
     
  9. andy572

    andy572
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    361
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oop North
    Ratings:
    +2
    Unlike my Netgem! :mad: :D

    It freezes or crashes every couple of days (I guess that's 'reliable', at least :clap: ) and has unsync'd sound and vision when following timer switch-on. This is supposedly a result of the last <cough> 'update' and on the list of fixes in the next. That knowledge doesn't make me any happier when I want to record if I'm away...

    There seem to be similar postings around regarding the 'better' Freeview boxes - which entertains me no end as I note that my Gran has had no problems with her relatively cheap Goodmans box :rotfl: :suicide: :rotfl:
     
  10. sijones

    sijones
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    581
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +29
    The new Sony freeview box has s-video and optical out.

    Steve
     
  11. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Thanks for the suggestions, guys.
     

Share This Page

Loading...