1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Freeview top-up channels.

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by lynx, Feb 13, 2004.

?
  1. Seca

    3 vote(s)
    25.0%
  2. Seca2

    8 vote(s)
    66.7%
  3. Conax/Nagra

    1 vote(s)
    8.3%
  4. Something else

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    Perhaps the good old days are coming back.
     
  2. Gazkicka54

    Gazkicka54
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    They already announced they will ota upgrade the box's - they wouldn't be insane as to use S1!
     
  3. wod

    wod
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    most likely to use seca2 as theres no cam slot for another encryption module
     
  4. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    Are the cams going to be easy to upgrade by an over air software transmission ????

    It looks as though owners of some integrated digital tv's are going to lose out here - Sony springs to mind as one of the manufacturers who saw fit to design their own software, which may be incompatible.

    Testing appears to be on ch26.
     
  5. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
  6. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    Recieved an email from a mate who has been monitoring using TSReader , which appears to be indicating the cam id as a SECA 2 id.
     
  7. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Lynx, having emailed topup TV, it seems it's not just integrated TV owners who will lose out, they have categorically stated that the system will not and never will be compatible with newer freeview boxes, regardless of model, and owners of, say a pace twin will have to buy a new compatible box at some point in the unpredicted future. Are they seriously contemplating this as a business model?
     
  8. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    I think they have an extremely shakey business case - who would sign up for this unless you can record programmes to watch when required.

    6 months before bust!
     
  9. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    My point was, who would sign up to it unless they can watch it at all! And who would buy a new, possibly over £100 freeview box for it when they probably already have one. Would you? You have a twin I believe, like me, and about 100 of my customers. What the *** am I going to tell them?
     
  10. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    Lets see what they kick off with. The end of this month appears to be launch date now. Cards should appear over the next 10 days by the look of things.
     
  11. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Yes the Twin is an excellent piece of kit, and it would be tempting to subscribe IF the Twin worked IF it was around £3 per month and IF there was no signon fee.

    However I do still have an Ondigital CAM and if the Twin gets made compatible I might scour the internet for cards or a card programmer.

    But only old dodgy boxes supported and £8 for a very small number of channels - some are rubbish - Titsup will go titsup sooner rather than later!

    But then I hardly have time to watch the 14 or so channels I use regularly. Basically it is only Discovery I would miss - and that was not a patch on Discovery Wings which shut down about 6 months before ITVD.

    One more point for Titsup.

    Why did a poll in AVFORUMS go over 90% behind FV?

    Why out of just under 300 emails to ITC were most supporting what became FV?

    Pay TV the grass is not greener - in fact it is a bit yellow and rotten!
     
  12. cosmic023

    cosmic023
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +87
    "Rant Mode: on "

    Well i hope it goes tit's up as well !! :D

    After all why call it FREEVIEW when you have to pay !! :mad:

    It'll be like the golden days of Sky, and ITV Digital !! Once you start paying, they'll take your money and then up the charge on a regular basis !!

    That's why i bought a Freeview box, so it gave me some extra tv channels and radio stations to use, and stay away from paying a regular monthly fee.

    I don't agree paying a subscription fee, when after all i use the radio stations on Freeview more than i do watching tv channels, but then it's nice to have an extra selection over the regular 5 tv channels we have in the UK.

    Many years ago i did have Sky, but then the cost vs the amount of hours watched it, wasn't worth it.....so i cancelled it.

    Seems like were going down this path again now with Freeview !! :D

    "Rant Mode: off " :D

    Cheers

    Cosmic023
     
  13. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    Freeview and Top Up Tv are not the same thing though.
     
  14. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    No, one of them is doomed to fail!
     
  15. cosmic023

    cosmic023
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +87
    yeah but's it's still on the Freeview system !!

    But i just can see it happening all over again !!

    EDIT:
    OK my mistake, but it's bound to fail one way or another !!
     
  16. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,389
    Freeview is not the system, Freeview is a product that runs on the DTT system. TitsupTV will just be another product running on DTT.

    Saying that though I still think TUTV will either change/evolve or fail fairly quickly! I cannot see it surviving in its current format.

    Mark.
     
  17. jon smith

    jon smith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +137
    I see TopUp started today... and I would subscribe but I have a Pace Twin.

    Like others, I don't see it lasting unless they can get the newer freeview boxes to work with it...
     
  18. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    So are there any members who have subscribed? Or are we all so 'latest kit' orientated that nobody has got a compatible box?
     
  19. rudelad

    rudelad
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I suscribed to see whats the service like. A few extra channels as I don't have a land line so I can't get SKY. Received card yesterday only to find my card reader in my pioneer box doesn't work. I had cancel my subscription, they still charged me the connection fee. What waste of time that was. Is it possible to get SKY without a landline?
     
  20. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    You only need a phone connection IF you take a subsidised installation. You can buy the dish/lnb and digibox either brand new from a dealer or used from whatever source and then subscribe to SKY at the usual package prices.

    There will probably be a few more STB's released over the next months which have been upgraded with CAM support, you will probably be charged the connection fee again though:)
    The guys behind TUTV did work for SKY and no doubt learnt a few things:)
     
  21. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,389
    I've got an old Philips OnDigital box so could subscribe.
    Wil I? :nono:

    Mark.
     
  22. ScoobyZ

    ScoobyZ
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    912
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +54
    me blows dust off me old Elvis :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...